He's Gone by Deb Caletti
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Well-written, strongly characterized and emotionally complex fiction.


From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an intensely gripping story about love, loss, marriage, and secrets—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah, and Anna Quindlen.
“One of the best books I’ve read all year.”—Barbara O’Neal, author of The Garden of Happy Endings

“What do you think happened to your husband, Mrs. Keller?”
The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass, Dani fills her day with small things. But still, Ian does not return. Irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone.
As the police work methodically through all the logical explanations—he’s hurt, he’s run off, he’s been killed—Dani searches frantically for a clue as to whether Ian is in fact dead or alive. And, slowly, she unpacks their relationship, holding each moment up to the light: from its intense, adulterous beginning, to the grandeur of their new love, to the difficulties of forever. She examines all the sins she can—and cannot—remember. As the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth—about herself, her husband, and their lives together.
“A thought-provoking and moving exploration.”—New York Times bestselling author Erica Bauermeister

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About Deb Caletti

See more books from this Author
Deb Caletti is an award-winning author and a National Book Award finalist whose books-Honey, Baby, Sweetheart; The Queen of Everything; The Secret Life of Prince Charming-are published and translated worldwide. She lives with her family in Seattle.
Published May 14, 2013 by Bantam. 354 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for He's Gone
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0


on Feb 04 2013

Well-written, strongly characterized and emotionally complex fiction.

Read Full Review of He's Gone: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for He's Gone

An aggregated and normalized score based on 305 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review