Heart of Iron by Bec McMaster

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...it seemed both overstuffed and too thin at the same time, like a pastry whose cream is abundant but weak in flavor.
-Dear Author


"Edgy, dark, and shot through with a grim, gritty intensity...another gripping, inventive stunner." - Library Journal, STARRED Review

In Victorian London, if you're not a blue blood of the Echelon then you're nothing at all. The Great Houses rule the city with an iron fist, imposing their strict "blood taxes' on the nation, and the Queen is merely a puppet on a string...

Lena Todd makes the perfect spy. Nobody suspects the flirtatious debutante could be a sympathizer for the humanist movement haunting London's vicious blue blood elite. Not even the ruthless Will Carver, the one man she can't twist around her little finger, and the one man whose kiss she can't forget...

Stricken with the loupe and considered little more than a slave-without-a-collar to the blue bloods, Will wants nothing to do with the Echelon or the dangerous beauty who drives him to the very edge of control. But when he finds a coded letter on Lena-a code that matches one he saw on a fire-bombing suspect-he realizes she's in trouble. To protect her, he must seduce the truth from her.

With London on the brink of revolution, Lena and Will must race against time-and an automaton army-to stop the humanist plot before it's too late. But as they fight to save a city, the greatest danger might just be to their hearts...

A fresh, suspensful paranormal romance, Bec McMaster's London Steampunk novels will appeal to fans of Gail Carriger, Kristen Callihan's Darkest London series, and the Blud series by Delilah Dawson.

RITA finalist Bec McMaster's London Steampunk series:
Kiss of Steel, Book 1 – Honoria's last hope is the most dangerous man in London's underworld, and she may be his last hope as well
Heart of Iron, Book 2 – Will would do anything to protect Lena, including fighting his love for her, but seducing her may be the only way to save her
My Lady Quicksilver, Book 3 – Rosalind risks her life, and her heart, to get close to the one man who could find and free her brother. But will he?
Forged by Desire, Book 4 – RITA finalist, When Perry fled her thrall contract and joined the Nighthawks, she thought she would be safe, but danger is stalking her again
Of Silk and Steam, Book 5 – Mina has sworn revenge for her father's death, but the man she plans to destroy could be her own undoing, or the salvation of all London

What readers are saying about Heart of Iron:

"A clever and entertaining combination of historical romance, steampunk, paranormal and alternate history."

"a vastly unique and utterly vivid world that transports readers into another place."

"a perfect mix of action, romance and steampunk!"

"a little dark and a lot dangerous."

"Steampunk, romance, paranormal, suspense this book literally had it all."

What reviewers are saying about Heart of Iron:

"An engrossing, thrilling sequel." - Tynga's Reviews

"HEART OF IRON is so impressive, it deserves a seal of excellence! Make room on your keeper shelves... " - Fresh Fiction

"Intriguing... [readers will] love the sexy, action-packed narrative. " - Publishers Weekly

"McMaster's second London Steampunk Book dazzles and seduces... will leave readers breathless. 4 ½ Stars, Top Pick of the Month! " - RT Book Reviews

What everyone is saying about Bec McMaster:

"a must read for paranormal fans and steampunk fans alike. 5/5 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick" - Night Owl Reviews

"richly imagined, gritty and dark, and full of hot heroes and hot sex... utterly delicious. " -Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

"Action, adventure, steampunk, and blazing hot seduction...Bec McMaster offers it all."-Eve Silver, author of Sins of the Flesh


About Bec McMaster

See more books from this Author
Bec lives in a small town in country Victoria and grew up with her nose in a book. A member of RWA, RWA (Australia) and RWNZ, she writes sexy, dark paranormals and steampunk romance. When not writing, reading, or poring over travel brochures, she loves spending time with her very own hero or daydreaming about new worlds.
Published May 7, 2013 by Sourcebooks Casablanca. 448 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Heart of Iron
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Below average
Reviewed by Jane on May 01 2013

...it seemed both overstuffed and too thin at the same time, like a pastry whose cream is abundant but weak in flavor.

Read Full Review of Heart of Iron | See more reviews from Dear Author

Reader Rating for Heart of Iron

An aggregated and normalized score based on 108 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review