Hell or High Water by Joy Castro
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A psychological thriller in the vein of Kate Atkinson and Tana French that introduces Nola Céspedes, an intense and spellbinding protagonist


Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, catches a break: An assignment to write her first full-length feature. While researching her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in New Orleans. As Nola's work leads her into darker corners of the city, a singular narrative voice emerges, and an even more compelling question surfaces: Who is Nola Céspedes? Vividly rendered in razor sharp prose, this novel is a riveting journey of trust betrayed--and the courageous struggle toward recovery.

 

About Joy Castro

See more books from this Author
JOY CASTRO teaches literature at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln. She is the author of Hell or High Water, Island of Bones and The Truth Book (selected as an ABA Book Sense Notable Book in 2005). She lives in Lincoln, NE.
 
Published July 17, 2012 by Thomas Dunne Books. 351 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Hell or High Water

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Post-Katrina New Orleans provides the vivid backdrop for this uneven first novel, the first in a new crime thriller series from Castro (The Truth Book: A Memoir). In 2008, Times-Picayune reporter Nola

May 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Hell or High Water: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Post-Katrina New Orleans provides the vivid backdrop for this uneven first novel, the first in a new crime thriller series from Castro (The Truth Book: A Memoir).

May 21 2012 | Read Full Review of Hell or High Water: A Novel

Look At OKC

“Hell or High Water” (Thomas Dunn Books, $25.99) by Joy Castro is a psychological suspense thriller set in post-Katrina New Orleans.

Jul 29 2012 | Read Full Review of Hell or High Water: A Novel

Chick Lit Central

Nola finds herself in the middle of working the story when a new serial killer shows up on the New Orleans landscape.

Jul 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Hell or High Water: A Novel

Reader Rating for Hell or High Water
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 77 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×