Here Comes the Mystery Man, First Edition by Scott Russell Sanders

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Children on the nineteenth-century American frontier wait expectantly for the arrival of the singing, story-telling Merchant Meeks, bringing with him not only a bulging sack of spices, cloth, pots, and pans, but news of the world.

About Scott Russell Sanders

See more books from this Author
Scott Russell Sanders is the author of more than twenty books are novels, collections of stories, and works of personal nonfiction, including Staying Put, Writing from the Center, and Hunting for Hope. His latest books are A Private History of Awe, a coming-of-age memoir, love story, and spiritual testament, which was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize, and A Conservationist Manifesto, his vision of a shift from a culture of consumption to a culture of caretaking. His selected essays, drawn from three decades of writing, will be published in a volume entitled Earth Works in January 2012 by Indiana University Press. Sanders has received the Lannan Literary Award, the Associated Writing Programs Award in Creative Nonfiction, the Great Lakes Book Award, the Kenyon Review Literary Award, the John Burroughs Essay Award, and the Indiana Humanities Award, among other honors, and has received support for his writing from the Lilly Endowment, the Indiana Arts Commission, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Guggenheim Foundation. The Society for the Study of Midwestern Literature named him the 2009 winner of the Mark Twain Award; in 2010 he was named the National Winner of the Glick Indiana Authors Award; and in 2011 the Fellowship of Southern Writers presented him with the Cecil Woods, Jr. Award in Nonfiction. Sanders is currently at work on a novel, a collection of short stories, and a book about the meaning of wealth. His writing examines the human place in nature, the pursuit of social justice, the relation between culture and geography, and the search for a spiritual path. He is a distinguished professor emeritus of english at Indiana University, where he taught from 1971 to 2009.
Published September 30, 1993 by Atheneum.
Genres: Children's Books.