His Majesty's Hope by Susan Elia MacNeal
A Maggie Hope Mystery

72%

5 Critic Reviews

Maggie continues her winning ways with more thrills and romantic problems, but this time, the horrors of her experiences add depth to the already pleasing adventures.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

“You’ll be [Maggie Hope’s] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”—O: The Oprah Magazine


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Susan Elia MacNeal

See more books from this Author
Susan Elia MacNeal is the author of the Maggie Hope mystery series, including her debut novel, Mr. Churchill's Secretary, Princess Elizabeth's Spy, and the upcoming Hitler's Nightingale. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and child.
 
Published May 14, 2013 by Bantam. 370 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for His Majesty's Hope
All: 5 | Positive: 4 | Negative: 1

Publishers Weekly

Below average
on Mar 25 2013

A light spy thriller with thin characterizations and situations that never realize their full dramatic potential.

Read Full Review of His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie ... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Good
on Mar 31 2013

Maggie continues her winning ways with more thrills and romantic problems, but this time, the horrors of her experiences add depth to the already pleasing adventures.

Read Full Review of His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie ... | See more reviews from Kirkus

RT Book Reviews

Good
on May 01 2013

MacNeal’s Maggie Hope mysteries are as addictive as a BBC miniseries, with the added attraction of a well-paced thriller.

Read Full Review of His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie ...

Mysterious Reviews

Good

The fictional story of His Majesty's Hope is seamlessly integrated into historical fact, anchored throughout by the clever and resourceful Maggie Hope.

Read Full Review of His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie ...

Story Circle Book Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Laura Strathman Hulka on Apr 30 2013

MacNeal's excellent writing and plot structuring make the book a joy to read, even with the minor chaos of the plot. Looking forward to book number four!

Read Full Review of His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie ...

Reader Rating for His Majesty's Hope
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 344 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×