Hope in Time of Abandonment by Jacques Ellul
(Jacques Ellul Legacy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

The writings of Jacques Ellul have brought him into the first rank as theologian and social critic. Martin Marty commented that if he had to introduce one man from the Protestant world to tell the church what its agenda should be, that man would be Ellul. The eminent Frenchman now brings us his most profound, most moving theological statement. For years, Jacques Ellul tells us in his preface, he had wanted to write a book on "The Age of Abandonment" for it seemed to him that both society and the church had reached that point described in Scripture when God turns his back and is silent. But when he came to elaborate this theme, Ellul found himself inexplicably writing on the theme of hope, despite the fact that his analysis of society remained unchanged. Hope was now no longer a matter of intellect, but a word asked by God of the heart for its salvation. More than ever before, in this book Jacques Ellul shares with readers not only the darkest forebodings of contemporary man's soul, but also his own struggle to emerge from despair to a stronger level of Christian faith-and hope. He writes of hope, not in the vein of Moltmann and Metz, but in a highly original and penetrating manner.
 

About Jacques Ellul

See more books from this Author
 
Published January 1, 1973 by Seabury Press. 306 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Hope in Time of Abandonment

Patheos

My take on it is that there is no evidence for any of the gods invented by humanity so far, so we can discount their existence (like you discount the existence of all gods except your very own favourite, without any proof for the non-existence of all these other gods).

Feb 13 2017 | Read Full Review of Hope in Time of Abandonment: ...
×