How Not to Run for President by Catherine Clark

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Fans of Andrew Clements and Gordon Korman will love this funny book about a boy who accidentally gets mixed up in a presidential campaign and becomes a very unlikely star.

When the middle-school band is called to play for a presidential campaign rally, Aidan is right there with his clarinet, just in time to save the candidate's life. Interviewed by the media, he speaks up in favor of the need to save jobs--like his mom's, for instance. Even though he's in the middle of Little League season, for pete's sake, the candidate convinces him to join her tour of the Midwest. Problem 1: The candidate's daughter HATES Aidan. Problem 2: What do you do when your whole life has been turned upside down and you can't get away from the media? Problem 3: What's a red-blooded American boy to do when he's asked to play the clarinet on national TV and the local bully back home is giving interviews saying Aidan's the nerd of the century?


About Catherine Clark

See more books from this Author
Catherine Clark is the author of several young adult novels, including "Maine Squeeze, The Alison Rules, " and "So Inn Love." She lives in Minneapolis with her husband and daughter and takes family road trips whenever and wherever she can. (But not on buses.)
Published January 10, 2012 by EgmontUSA. 240 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Arts & Photography, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for How Not to Run for President

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When 12-year-old Aidan Schroeckenbauer saves presidential candidate Bettina Brandon from a falling campaign sign and ends up the “Clarinet Hero,” he’s adopted by the campaign and hits the road.

| Read Full Review of How Not to Run for President

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Clark (Love and Other Things I’m Bad At) includes some tidbits about presidential politics and the 24-hour news cycle, as well as lots of silliness along the way—there’s a Facebook movement to recruit Aidan for the v-p slot, and the media launches a smear campaign to undermine his credibility.

Nov 28 2011 | Read Full Review of How Not to Run for President

Rate this book!

Add Review