How Sex Works by Sharon Moalem
Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and Act the Way We Do

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.”
— Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

"How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag."
O magazine

Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner’s Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.

 

About Sharon Moalem

See more books from this Author
Dr. Sharon Moalem is an award-winning neurologist and evolutionary biologist, with a PhD in human physiology. His research brings evolution, genetics, biology, and medicine together to explain how the body works in new and fascinating ways. He and his work have been featured on CNN, in the New York Times, on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, on Today, and in magazines such as New Scientist, Elle, and Martha Stewart's Body + Soul. Dr. Moalem's first book was the New York Times bestseller Survival of the Sickest. He lives in New York City.
 
Published April 17, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 290 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Self Help, Professional & Technical, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for How Sex Works

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Moalem (Survival of the Sickest, 2007) explores the social human from a sexual perspective, concluding that the evolution of sexuality can teach us a lot about behavior.

Feb 15 2009 | Read Full Review of How Sex Works: Why We Look, S...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this wide-ranging look at the evolutionary reasons for sex, physiologist and evolutionary biologist Moalem says that it's all about shuffling the gene pool and getting rid of any unwelcome guests, such as viruses, that may have latched onto human DNA.

Mar 02 2009 | Read Full Review of How Sex Works: Why We Look, S...

PopMatters

Luckily, Moalem is on the case, taking readers on a journey from basic anatomy to sexually transmitted infections down to teledidonics, short for sexual remote interaction technology, which allows someone to remotely control a vibrator through a wireless connection.

May 21 2009 | Read Full Review of How Sex Works: Why We Look, S...

Oprah.com

Packed with trivia about the evolutionary history, intricate mechanics, and nitty-gritty mysteries of sex, sexual organs, and desire, Sharon Moalem's How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag.

| Read Full Review of How Sex Works: Why We Look, S...

Reader Rating for How Sex Works
71%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×