How Will You Measure Your Life? by Clayton M. Christensen

89%

9 Critic Reviews

For me, quality wins. After reading Clay Christensen’s new book, How Will You Measure Your Life?, I’m relieved to know that’s spot-on.
-Forbes

Synopsis

From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.
 

About Clayton M. Christensen

See more books from this Author
CLAYTON M. CHRISTENSEN is the Kim B. Clark Professor at HCLAYTON M. CHRISTENSEN is the Kim B. Clark Professor at Harvard Business School, the author of seven books, a five-tiarvard Business School, the author of seven books, a five-time recipient of the McKinsey Award for Harvard Business Revime recipient of the McKinsey Award for Harvard Business Review's best article, and the cofounder of four companies, inclew's best article, and the cofounder of four companies, including the innovation consulting firm Innosight. In 2011 he wuding the innovation consulting firm Innosight. In 2011 he was named the world's most influential business thinker in a as named the world's most influential business thinker in a biennial ranking conducted by Thinkers50. biennial ranking conducted by Thinkers50.
 
Published May 15, 2012 by HarperBusiness. 239 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Self Help, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction
Bookmark Counts:
5
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for How Will You Measure Your Life?
All: 9 | Positive: 8 | Negative: 1

LA Times

Excellent
Reviewed by Andrew Hill on May 20 2012

...a self-help book that is not a self-help book, based on rigorous research but enlivened by anecdotes about the experiences of a man who is hailed as a model by his students.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life? | See more reviews from LA Times

Huffington Post

Below average
Reviewed by Robert Teitelman on May 22 2012

Christensen may be inspiring, but teaching folks how to value and measure their lives is a stretch.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Forbes

Excellent
Reviewed by Elmira Bayrasli on May 14 2012

For me, quality wins. After reading Clay Christensen’s new book, How Will You Measure Your Life?, I’m relieved to know that’s spot-on.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life? | See more reviews from Forbes

TODAY'S ZAMAN

Excellent
Reviewed by MELİH ARAT on Aug 26 2012

Using lessons from some of the world’s greatest businesspeople, he is providing a compass for readers.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Harvard Business Review

Excellent
Reviewed by Scott Anthony on Jul 27 2012

Beyond drawing individual lessons from the book, corporate leaders should turn the central framing question on their organizations — asking how they will measure their company's lives.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Inc.

Excellent
Reviewed by Leigh Buchanan on May 29 2012

The book explains how companies and individuals must test assumptions before making big decisions.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

SGEntrepreneurs.

Excellent
Reviewed by Bernard Leong on Jul 13 2012

What I enjoyed about the book is the sense of perspective that he has placed on how one should balance their career and family and integrate work with happiness.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Carmen Nobel

Excellent
Reviewed by Carmen Nobel on Jun 04 2012

The key idea is that the same causal mechanisms that drive big businesses can be just as effective in driving our personal lives.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Randall Howard

Good
Reviewed by Randall Howard on Jul 01 2012

The book is well informed by his existing recipes for strategic innovation, an example being the balance of emergent strategy with deliberate strategy.

Read Full Review of How Will You Measure Your Life?

Reader Rating for How Will You Measure Your Life?
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 867 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

né

3 Aug 2015

Added the book to want to read list

Jose

Jose 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Alejandro

Alejandro 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Vikas

Vikas 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

James J. Stoodt

James J. Stoodt 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×