How to Avoid Extinction by Paul Acampora

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Late in the book, a character sums up the plot by saying, “That’s the key to happiness….Join the right circus.” Despite some flaws, this book is the right circus.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For fans of Gary Schmidt and Joan Bauer, a laugh-out-loud intergenerational road trip story from acclaimed author Paul Acampora!

Since the death of his grandfather, Leo's number one chore has been to chase after his grandmother who seems to wander away from home every few days. Now, Gram's decided to roam farther than ever. And despite his misgivings, Leo's going along for the ride. With his seventeen-year-old cousin, Abbey, and an old, gassy dog named Kermit, Leo joins Gram in a big, old Buick to leave their Pennsylvania home for a cross-country road trip filled with foldout maps, family secrets, new friends, and dinosaur bones.

How to Avoid Extinction is a middle-grade comedy about death and food and family and fossils. It's about running away from home and coming back again. For Leo, it's about asking hard questions and hopefully finding some sensible answers. As if good sense has anything to do with it. Against a backdrop of America's stunning size and beauty, it's also about growing up, getting old, dreaming about immortality, and figuring out all the things we can -- and can't -- leave behind.
 

About Paul Acampora

See more books from this Author
Paul Acampora is an avid reader, an enthusiastic dad, and a ferocious fan of being human. His first novel Defining Dulcie received starred review from Publisher's Weekly, School Library Journal and Booklist, and was a School Library Journal Best Books of 2006 and a VOYA Top Ten. Paul lives in Allentown, PA with his wife and two kids. Visit him at www.paulacampora.com
 
Published September 27, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.. 213 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for How to Avoid Extinction
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Jun 22 2016

Late in the book, a character sums up the plot by saying, “That’s the key to happiness….Join the right circus.” Despite some flaws, this book is the right circus.

Read Full Review of How to Avoid Extinction | See more reviews from Kirkus
×