How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places says "I am utterly addicted to Adriana Mather's electric debutIt keeps you on the edge of your seat, twisting and turning with ghosts, witches, an ancient curse, and-- sigh-- romance. It's beautiful. Haunting. The characters are vivid and real.  I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down." 



For fans of Conversion and Mean Girls, comes a debut novel from one of the descendants of Cotton Mather, where the trials of high school start to feel like a modern day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem’s past.


Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?
If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.
 

About Adriana Mather

See more books from this Author
Adriana Mather is the 12th generation of Mathers in America, with family roots stretching back to the first Thanksgiving, the Salem Witch Trials, the Revolutionary War, and the Titanic. Adriana co-owns Zombot Pictures, a production company that makes feature films. In addition to producing, Adriana is also an actress. She lives in Los Angeles where she has a life full of awesome, cats, and coffee. Follow Adriana on Twitter, @AdrianaMather.
Author Residence: Los Angeles, CA
 
Published July 26, 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers. 368 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for How to Hang a Witch

Gr 9 Up—Samantha Mather's life has been turned upside down after her father becomes ill and slips into an unexplained coma. Uprooted from New York, Sam's father is placed in a Boston medical facility while Sam and her stepmother move into her father's house in Salem, MA. As a direct descendant of...

Jun 01 2016 | Read Full Review of How to Hang a Witch
×