How to Love an American Man by Kristine Gasbarre
A True Story

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A lovely, warm, and poignant true story that reads like compelling fiction, How to Love an American Man is Kristine Gasbarre’s unforgettable memoir recalling the valuable lessons on love she learned from her newly widowed grandmother—and how Grandma’s advice and memories enabled the author to find and fall for a man with an old-fashioned approach to romance. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, women readers drawn to tales of powerful female bonding, and anyone looking for a beautiful love story will be moved and, perhaps, profoundly inspired by How to Love an American Man.
 

About Kristine Gasbarre

See more books from this Author
Kristine Gasbarre is a celebrity interviewer and a culture and lifestyle contributor to women’s print and digital publications. A graduate of John Carroll University in Cleveland and Fordham University in New York City, she holds degrees in psychology and media studies, and she lives in Brooklyn, New York.
 
Published August 16, 2011 by William Morrow Paperbacks. 304 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for How to Love an American Man

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Yet the two women found common ground in one important way—they both shared an “equally intense affinity for the first generation all-American alpha male.” Their bond deepened as Gasbarre shared the details of the two relationships that occupied her attention during her stay at her parents’ house...

May 15 2011 | Read Full Review of How to Love an American Man: ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Gasbarre, a contributor to relationship Web sites (YourTango and LimeWire), details her quest for finding love with the perfect man, someone who has all the qualities of her grandfather.

May 30 2011 | Read Full Review of How to Love an American Man: ...

The American Book Center Blog

And it’s at this point that this self-centered, dime-a-dozen writer becomes even more unbearable: indulging in self-pity, she compares her loss of a fling with her grandmother’s loss of her husband of 60 years to cancer and actually insists grandma shouldn’t be so upset for not having “things [go...

Aug 19 2011 | Read Full Review of How to Love an American Man: ...

Reader Rating for How to Love an American Man
73%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 101 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×