Hum If You Don't Know the Words by Bianca Marais

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

...in the process, the author turns Hum If You Don’t Know the Words into a brave girl’s rousing quest for redemption.
-Toronto Star

Synopsis

Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy.

Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a ten-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have occurred . . . until the Soweto Uprising, in which a protest by black students ignites racial conflict, alters the fault lines on which their society is built, and shatters their worlds when Robin’s parents are left dead and Beauty’s daughter goes missing.

After Robin is sent to live with her loving but irresponsible aunt, Beauty is hired to care for Robin while continuing the search for her daughter. In Beauty, Robin finds the security and family that she craves, and the two forge an inextricable bond through their deep personal losses. But Robin knows that if Beauty finds her daughter, Robin could lose her new caretaker forever, so she makes a desperate decision with devastating consequences. Her quest to make amends and find redemption is a journey of self-discovery in which she learns the harsh truths of the society that once promised her protection.

Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the interwoven narratives create a rich and complex tapestry of the emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid-era South Africa. Hum If You Don’t Know the Words is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family.
 

About Bianca Marais

See more books from this Author
 
Published July 11, 2017 by G.P. Putnam's Sons. 432 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Hum If You Don't Know the Words
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Apr 18 2017

An entertaining page-turner that, while somewhat pat in its treatment of racial politics, provides a satisfying emotional journey.

Read Full Review of Hum If You Don't Know the Words | See more reviews from Kirkus

Toronto Star

Good
Reviewed by Rayyan Al-Shawaf on Jul 21 2017

...in the process, the author turns Hum If You Don’t Know the Words into a brave girl’s rousing quest for redemption.

Read Full Review of Hum If You Don't Know the Words | See more reviews from Toronto Star
×