Hummingbirds by Joshua Gaylord
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." —Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." —Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining—and darkly surprising—relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.


About Joshua Gaylord

See more books from this Author
Joshua Gaylord has taught at an Upper East Side prep school for the past ten years. He also teaches literature and cultural studies as an adjunct professor at the New School. He lives in New York.
Published October 6, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 356 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Hummingbirds

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

They form a boyish camaraderie of witty insults, but Leo keeps his wife’s identity a secret from Ted and his new comrade a secret from Sarah.

Sep 01 2009 | Read Full Review of Hummingbirds: A Novel

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

The girls want to be women, the women want to be girlish, the boys want to be men, and the men want to be boys.

Oct 06 2009 | Read Full Review of Hummingbirds: A Novel

A Patchwork of Books

Her name was Carol Mooney, and what made her so irresistible was her belief that I was extraordinary --- a delusion which, when I discover it in people around me, never fails to raise them in my estimation.

Mar 15 2013 | Read Full Review of Hummingbirds: A Novel

Reader Rating for Hummingbirds

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review