I Am Half-Sick of Shadows by Alan Bradley
A Flavia de Luce Novel

81%

13 Critic Reviews

Certainly Flavia can solve a murder, but matters of love and relationships continue to puzzle her and engage us, giving Bradley’s novels a much more emotional edge than your average drawing room mystery.
-National Post arts

Synopsis

“Every Flavia de Luce novel is a reason to celebrate.”—USA Today
 
ALAN BRADLEY, AUTHOR OF THE MOST AWARD-WINNING SERIES DEBUT OF ANY YEAR, RETURNS WITH ANOTHER IRRESISTIBLE FLAVIA DE LUCE NOVEL.
 
“[Alan] Bradley has created one of the most original, charming, devilishly creative and hilarious detectives of any age or any time.”—Bookreporter
 
It’s Christmastime, and Flavia de Luce—an eleven-year-old sleuth with a passion for chemistry—is tucked away in her laboratory, whipping up a concoction to ensnare Saint Nick. But she is soon distracted when a film crew arrives at Buckshaw, the de Luces’ decaying English estate, to shoot a movie starring the famed Phyllis Wyvern. Amid a raging blizzard, the entire village of Bishop’s Lacey gathers at Buckshaw to watch Wyvern perform, yet nobody is prepared for the evening’s shocking conclusion: a body found strangled to death with a length of film. But who among the assembled guests would stage such a chilling scene? As the storm worsens and the list of suspects grows, Flavia must ferret out a killer hidden in plain sight.

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Alan Bradley's Speaking from Among the Bones.
 
“[Flavia is] the most intrepid and charming adolescent chemist/detective/busybody in all of rural, post–World War II England.”—The Seattle Times
 
“Quirky and delightful . . . Flavia is a classic literary character who manages to appeal to both young and old readers equally.”—Wichita Falls Times Record News
 
“Bradley’s plot twists and turns delightfully.”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST MYSTERIES OF THE YEAR BY THE SEATTLE TIMES
 

About Alan Bradley

See more books from this Author
ALAN BRADLEY was born in Toronto and grew up in Cobourg, Ontario. Prior to taking early retirement to write in 1994, he was director of television engineering at the University of Saskatchewan media center for twenty-five years. His versatility has earned him awards for his children's books, radio broadcasts of his short stories, and national print for his journalism. He also coauthoredMs. Holmes of Baker Street, to great acclaim and much controversy, followed by a poignant memoir,The Shoebox Bible. Now the internationally bestselling author ofThe Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag, A Red Herring Without Mustard, andI Am Half-Sick of Shadows, Bradley lives in Malta with his wife and two calculating cats, where he is at work on future Flavia de Luce mysteries.
 
Published November 1, 2011 by Delacorte Press. 305 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
All: 13 | Positive: 12 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Sep 20 2011

The plot’s murderous aspects are on the skimpy side.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Sep 26 2011

...an agreeable puzzle playing out against the cozy backdrop of a British village at Christmas, this is a most welcome holiday gift for Flavia fans.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Book Reporter

Good
on Nov 03 2011

I AM HALF-SICK OF SHADOWS is a delightful holiday gift idea for Flavia fans, or for those who should be.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

Globe and Mail

Excellent
on Dec 07 2011

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows is a delicious, lighthearted holiday read best served by a crackling fireplace with warm eggnog...

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ... | See more reviews from Globe and Mail

RT Book Reviews

Good

This is a classic country house mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie, and Poirot himself would approve of Flavia’s skills in snooping and deduction.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

National Post arts

Good
on Dec 23 2011

Certainly Flavia can solve a murder, but matters of love and relationships continue to puzzle her and engage us, giving Bradley’s novels a much more emotional edge than your average drawing room mystery.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ... | See more reviews from National Post arts

The Bookbag

Excellent
on Dec 04 2011

The story is good, the time and the location is perfect but what really sets this series apart from others is the quality of the writing. Reading is a delight and Alan Bradley is now one of those authors whose books are irresistible.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

We Love This Book

Good
on Mar 11 2011

A must-read for those bored with repetitive crime fiction, this is a true thriller, with an exciting plot and an adorable heroine.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

Book Lovers

Good
on Feb 23 2012

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows was a fun read with a whole lot of heart.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

Night Owl Suspense

Excellent

In the extremely unlikely event that the legendary Sherlock Holmes either had a younger sister or sired a daughter, her name would be "Flavia"!

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

CM

Good
on Feb 17 2012

Fans of Flavia...will not be disappointed with this book, and those who aren’t yet, will become fans...

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

National Post arts

Good
Reviewed by Angela Hickman on Dec 23 2011

Certainly Flavia can solve a murder, but matters of love and relationships continue to puzzle her and engage us, giving Bradley’s novels a much more emotional edge than your average drawing room mystery.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ... | See more reviews from National Post arts

Mollie's Yattitude Problem

Good
on Jan 02 2012

What I love most about this series is that even though it's marketed as adult, anyone age ten and up could read it and enjoy every minute.

Read Full Review of I Am Half-Sick of Shadows: A ...

Reader Rating for I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
84%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 447 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×