I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell
Seventeen Brushes with Death

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

While these experiences are unique to the author, there is a common thread in their telling. Each of these essays is underscored with the knowledge that such incidents can materialise in all our lives without warning.
-Guardian

Synopsis

An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers.
Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.
 

About Maggie O'Farrell

See more books from this Author
Maggie O'Farrell is the author of After You'd Gone, winner of a Betty Trask Award; My Lover's Lover; The Distance Between Us, winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox; and The Hand That First Held Mine, winner of a Costa Novel Award.













Author Residence: London













Author Hometown: Northern Ireland
 
Published February 6, 2018 by Knopf. 304 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for I Am, I Am, I Am
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Kate Kellaway on Aug 20 2017

The difficulty she faces with the structure of the book is that it is not unexpected at all. We get the gist from the subtitle, Seventeen Brushes With Death, although there is enough variety to avoid predictability.

Read Full Review of I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen B... | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Fiona Sturges on Aug 18 2017

While these experiences are unique to the author, there is a common thread in their telling. Each of these essays is underscored with the knowledge that such incidents can materialise in all our lives without warning.

Read Full Review of I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen B... | See more reviews from Guardian

Rate this book!

Add Review
×