I Am the Only Running Footman by Martha Grimes

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



In a rainy ditch in a Devon wood, a hitchhiker is found dead. Almost a year later, on another rainy night, another murder; this time, however, the victim is found just outside a pub called I Am the Only Running Footman, near Berkeley Square in London’s fashionable Mayfair District. Devon policeman Brian Macalvie is convinced that the two murders are connected. And thus, in his eighth case, Richard Jury is drawn into the so-called Porphyria killings. A particularly elusive pair of murders. From the streets of London to the village of Somers Abbas, Jury and Macalvie are joined by the stolid if hypochondriac Sergeant Wiggins and the reluctant Melrose Plant. They meet in another pub, the Mortal Man, and, amidst the clatter and cry of the Warboys family, they ponder a labyrinthine set of clues.

About Martha Grimes

See more books from this Author
Martha Grimes is the bestselling author of eighteen Richard Jury mysteries and also the acclaimed fiction Foul Matter, Cold Flat Junction, Hotel Paradise, The End of the Pier, and The Train Now Departing.
Published May 14, 2013 by Scribner. 224 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for I Am the Only Running Footman

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

So Jury soon finds himself in the country, getting a close-up view of Mart, his imperious sister Marion, and his soulful nephew Edward--all of whom are still mourning the hit-and-run death of Marion's young daughter Phoebe, all of whom are estranged from Marion's husband Hugh.

| Read Full Review of I Am the Only Running Footman

Reader Rating for I Am the Only Running Footman

An aggregated and normalized score based on 39 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review