I Don't Care About Your Band by Julie Klausner
What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Trust Funders, Pornographers, Felons, Faux-Sensitive Hipsters, and Other Guys I've Dated

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Read Julie Klausner's posts on the Penguin Blog

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.

I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man--good or otherwise--when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.

Off the popularity of her New York Times "Modern Love" piece about getting the brush-off from an indie rock musician, I Don't care About Your Band is marbled with the wry strains of Julie Klausner's precocious curmudgeonry and brimming with truths that anyone who's ever been on a date will relate to. Klausner is an expert at landing herself waist-deep in crazy, time and time again, in part because her experience as a comedy writer (Best Week Ever, TV Funhouse on SNL) and sketch comedian from NYC's Upright Citizens Brigade fuels her philosophy of how any scene should unfold, which is, "What? That sounds crazy? Okay, I'll do it."

I Don't Care About Your Band charts a distinctly human journey of a strong-willed but vulnerable protagonist who loves men like it's her job, but who's done with guys who know more about love songs than love. Klausner's is a new outlook on dating in a time of pop culture obsession, and she spent her 20's doing personal field research to back up her philosophies. This is the girl's version of High Fidelity. By turns explicit, funny and moving, Klausner's debut shows the evolution of a young woman who endured myriad encounters with the wrong guys, to emerge with real- world wisdom on matters of the heart. I Don't Care About Your Band is Julie Klausner's manifesto, and every one of us can relate.


 

About Julie Klausner

See more books from this Author
Julie Klausner is a New York City-based writer/performer. She is the author of a memoir called I Don't Care About Your Band, which was optioned by Will Ferrell and Adam McKay's production company, and the host of a weekly podcast called How Was Your Week. Julie is a regular contributor to Vulture.com, where she writes about Real Housewives and makes videos, and she also writes for television, including shows like Billy on the Street and Best Week Ever. Her website, predictably, is julieklausner.com. Art Girls Are Easy is her first book for young adults.
 
Published January 11, 2010 by Gotham Books. 274 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for I Don't Care About Your Band

AV Club

See more reviews from this publication

But in the memoir I Don’t Care About Your Band, the grace that stand-up comedian and former Upright Citizens Brigade performer Julie Klausner manages to dredge up within herself shows that while time may not heal all lovers’ wounds, a razor-sharp sense of humor will scrape off their former poigna...

Feb 04 2010 | Read Full Review of I Don't Care About Your Band:...

Bookmarks Magazine

The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man--good or otherwise-- when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville.

Off the popularity of her New York Times "Modern Love" pi...

Feb 07 2010 | Read Full Review of I Don't Care About Your Band:...

California Literary Review

She’s not angry, but, she opines, “Your twenties are the worst part of your life that you don’t actually know at the time is terrible.” Her wit and self-deprecation are contagious, and anyone who’s dated in the last ten years will find themselves somewhere in this book (hopefully for the better).

Mar 02 2010 | Read Full Review of I Don't Care About Your Band:...

Reader Rating for I Don't Care About Your Band
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 106 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×