I, Hogarth by Michael Dean
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Dean’s prose feels true to the 18th century without being irritatingly “historical.”...Dean paints with words as Hogarth did with his brush.
-NY Times

Synopsis

William Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as "Gin Lane" and "The Rake's Progress," are renowned.

He was London's artist par excellence, and his work supplies the most enduring vision of the eighteenth century's ebullience, enjoyments, and social iniquities.

From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the artist's life as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through Hogarth's lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of England's best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and his untimely death, I, Hogarth is the remarkable story told through the artist's eyes. Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and work into a rich and satisfying narrative, recommended for fans of Hilary Mantel and Peter Ackroyd.
 

About Michael Dean

See more books from this Author
MICHAEL DEAN studied history at Oxford and holds a masters in Linguistics from the University of Edinburgh. He is the author of multiple books.
 
Published January 10, 2013 by The Overlook Press. 272 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for I, Hogarth
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Excellent
Reviewed by ANDREA WULF on Feb 01 2013

Dean’s prose feels true to the 18th century without being irritatingly “historical.”...Dean paints with words as Hogarth did with his brush.

Read Full Review of I, Hogarth: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Times

Reader Rating for I, Hogarth
62%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×