I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

From acclaimed author Gretchen McNeil comes her first realistic contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Kody Keplinger’s The Duff and Morgan Matson’s Since You've Been Gone.

Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She's starting senior year at the top of her class, she’s a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and she’s got a new boyfriend she’s crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying.

So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it's time to use The Formula for herself. She'll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixie—a quintessential manic pixie dream girl—in order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game.

Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn't all it's cracked up to be, and “Trixie” is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she's messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine?

 

About Gretchen McNeil

See more books from this Author
Gretchen McNeil is a former coloratura soprano and the voice of Mary on G4's Code Monkeys and currently sings with the L.A.-based circus troupe Cirque Berzerk. Along with fellow Harper authors Courtney Allison Moulton and Leah Clifford, she is a founding member of vlog group the YARebels-where she can be seen as "Monday"-as well as an active member of the Enchanted Inkpot, a group blog of YA and middle-grade fantasy writers. She is also the author of Possess. You can visit Gretchen online at www.gretchenmcneil.com.
 
Published October 18, 2016 by Balzer + Bray. 352 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction

Reader Rating for I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 20 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review