Ian Rankin and Inspector Rebus by Craig Cabell
The Official Story of the Bestselling Author and His Ruthless Detective

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Detective John Rebus first appeared in Ian Rankin's 1987 bestseller Knots and Crosses and has since gone on to appear in 17 books and numerous short stories. For more than 20 years these critically acclaimed novels have delighted readers and set a benchmark in contemporary crime fiction. These notoriously gritty stories have been adapted into a television series—the public cannot get enough of this hard-drinking, no-nonsense, complex detective. Although the fictional Inspector retired to the backwaters of Edinburgh's dark side in the 2007 novel Exit Music, the books endure. Here, Craig Cabell draws from his extensive interviews with Ian Rankin to explore both the writer and his creation, and how their relationship has developed over the years. He also investigates the dark cellars and sinister back streets of Rebus' Edinburgh—a dark, foreboding city that shatters any stereotypes of shortbread and kilts. Learn about the unusual connection between Rankin and Rebus, how the author was a punk musician and swineherd before becoming a writer, and why he was so inspired by fellow Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson and his masterpiece The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

About Craig Cabell

See more books from this Author
Craig Cabell is the author of Dennis Wheatley: Churchill's Storyteller, Ian Fleming's Secret War, and Snipers: Profiles of the World's Deadliest Killers.
Published May 1, 2010 by John Blake. 268 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Education & Reference, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review