If You Liked School, You'll Love Work by Irvine Welsh

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Irvine Welsh, the author of Trainspotting, is up to his old tricks with his new work of transgressive short fiction.

Irvine Welsh's first short-story collection since his debut work The Acid House presents five extraordinary stories, which remind us that he is a master of the short form, a brilliant storyteller, and—unarguably—one of today's funniest and most subversive writers. In "Rattlesnakes" three young Americans, lost in the desert, are accosted by two armed Mexicans. A Korean chef and a Chicago socialite find themselves connected through the disappearance of a pooch named Toto in "The D.O.G.S. of Lincoln Park." And in the title story, Mickey Baker—an ex-pat English bar owner living on the Costa Brava—tries to keep all of his balls in the air: maintaining his barmaid's weight at the sexual maximum, attending to the youthful Persephone, and dodging his ex-wife and Spanish gangsters.



In typically Welshian fashion, the characters and settings are anything but typical. These stories will make you laugh and gasp.
 

About Irvine Welsh

See more books from this Author
Irvine Welsh is the author of Trainspotting, Ecstacy, Filth (soon to be a major motion picture), Glue, Porno, and Crime, among other works. Welsh is also producing movies and writing screenplays. A native of Edinburgh, he lives in Chicago and Miami.
 
Published September 17, 2007 by W. W. Norton & Company. 402 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for If You Liked School, You'll Love Work

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Somewhat better, because it’s set in a world Welsh knows intimately, is the novella Kingdom of Fife, about unemployed DJ Jason King’s farcical pursuit of nubile equestriennes, his R-rated fulminations amusingly counterpointed by the urbane ravings of Jason’s irascible dad, a lifelong socialist wh...

Sep 01 2007 | Read Full Review of If You Liked School, You'll L...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

The story, “Kingdom of Fife,” could actually be called a short novel — it takes up nearly half the book — and it suggests that Welsh may care more for his characters when he’s forced to spend more time with them.

Sep 30 2007 | Read Full Review of If You Liked School, You'll L...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

If You Liked School, You'll Love Work by Irvine Welsh 391pp, Jonathan Cape, £11.99 If You Liked School, You'll Love Work consists of a vigorous, stunningly funny novella preceded by four rather flat short stories.

Jul 21 2007 | Read Full Review of If You Liked School, You'll L...

Entertainment Weekly

Like one of Trainspotting author Irvine Welsh's many sobriety-averse characters, these yarns wander widely and wildly — in a good way.

Aug 31 2007 | Read Full Review of If You Liked School, You'll L...

The Bookbag

Maybe Pages: 320 Date: July 2007 Publisher: Jonathan Cape ISBN: 978-0224075886 There is a perception that, whether you love or hate Irvine Welsh, you know just what to expect with his books.

Dec 01 2012 | Read Full Review of If You Liked School, You'll L...

Reader Rating for If You Liked School, You'll Love Work
63%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 18 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×