In This Mountain by Jan Karon
(The Mitford Years, Book 7)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



The seventh novel in the beloved Mitford series, by the bestselling author of At Home in Mitford and Somebody Safe with Somebody Good

Father Tim and Cynthia have been at home in Mitford for three years since returning from Whitecap Island.

In the little town that's home-away-from-home to millions of readers, life hums along as usual. Dooley looks toward his career as a vet; Joe Ivey and Fancy Skinner fight a haircut price war that takes no prisoners; and Percy steps out on a limb with a risky new menu item at the Main Street Grill.

Though Father Tim dislikes change, he dislikes retirement even more. As he and Cynthia gear up for a year-long ministry across the state line, a series of events sends shock waves through his faith-and the whole town of Mitford.

In her seventh novel in the bestselling Mitford Years series, Jan Karon delivers surprises of every kind, including the return of the man in the attic and an ending that no one in Mitford will ever forget.


About Jan Karon

See more books from this Author
Jan Karon, born Janice Meredith Wilson in the foothills of North Carolina, was named after the title of a popular novel, Janice Meredith. Jan wrote her first novel at the age of ten. "The manuscript was written on Blue Horse notebook paper, and was, for good reason, kept hidden from my sister. When she found it, she discovered the one curse word I had, with pounding heart, included in someone's speech. For Pete's sake, hadn't Rhett Butler used that very same word and gotten away with it? After my grandmother's exceedingly focused reproof, I've written books without cussin' ever since." Several years ago, Karon left a successful career in advertising to move to the mountain village of Blowing Rock, North Carolina, and write books. "I stepped out on faith to follow my lifelong dream of being an author," she says. "I made real sacrifices and took big risks. But living, it seems to me, is largely about risk." Enthusiastic booksellers across the country have introduced readers of all ages to Karon's heartwarming books. At Home in Mitford, Karon's first book in the Mitford series, was nominated for an ABBY by the American Booksellers Association in 1996 and again in 1997. Bookstore owner, Shirley Sprinkle, says, "The Mitford Books have been our all-time fiction bestsellers since we went in business twenty-five years ago. We've sold 10,000 of Jan's books and don't see any end to the Mitford phenomenon."
Published January 1, 2002 by Penguin Books. 382 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for In This Mountain

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Mitford, N.C., will rejoice over this anticipated full-length seventh installment in the bestselling series, especially those disappointed with its shorter, rather lightweight predecessor, A Common Life.

| Read Full Review of In This Mountain (The Mitford...

Book Reporter

Dooley Barlowe, the priest's "adopted son" heads off to college, visiting occasionally so as to keep in touch with the folks and check on the progress in the effort to find his biological father and brother --- and maybe catch a glimpse of Lace Turner, his childhood friend now grown into a lovely...

Jan 22 2011 | Read Full Review of In This Mountain (The Mitford...

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

| Read Full Review of In This Mountain (The Mitford...


Search Articles & Covers Search Terms and Section Search Search by Date Date search from to in Browse All Covers

Jun 24 2002 | Read Full Review of In This Mountain (The Mitford...

Reader Rating for In This Mountain

An aggregated and normalized score based on 274 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review