In the After by Demitria Lunetta

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Plucky, smart, inquisitive Amy’s first-person narration is enjoyably snarky, and this end of the world is original enough to make it a good addition to any collection of post-apocalyptic fiction.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In debut author Demitria Lunetta's heart-pounding thriller, one girl must fight for her survival in a world overrun by violent, deadly creatures. Perfect for fans of New York Times bestsellers like The 5th Wave and Across the Universe.

Amy Harris's life changed forever when They took over. Her parents—vanished. The government—obsolete. Societal structure—nonexistent. No one knows where They came from, but these vicious creatures have been rapidly devouring mankind since They appeared. With fierce survivor instincts, Amy manages to stay alive—and even rescues "Baby," a toddler who was left behind. After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope. On the surface, it appears to be a safe haven for survivors. But there are dark and twisted secrets lurking beneath that could have Amy and Baby paying with not only their freedom . . . but also their lives.

 

About Demitria Lunetta

See more books from this Author
Chicago native Demitria Lunetta holds a BA in Human Ecology and has spent countless hours studying the many ways in which people are capable of bringing about their own destruction. In case the end is near, she always carries a good book and a chocolate bar-the two items essential for postapocalyptic survival. In the After is her debut novel. Visit her online at www.demitrialunetta.blogspot.com and follow her on twitter @DemitriaLunetta.
 
Published June 25, 2013 by HarperTeen. 469 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for In the After
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Apr 15 2013

Plucky, smart, inquisitive Amy’s first-person narration is enjoyably snarky, and this end of the world is original enough to make it a good addition to any collection of post-apocalyptic fiction.

Read Full Review of In the After | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for In the After
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 350 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Danielle

Danielle 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×