In the Company of Ogres by A. Lee Martinez

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett!

For someone who's immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency--he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment.

Ogre Company is the legion's dumping ground--a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That's where Ned's rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company's newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc.
Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that's not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found out why he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . .

In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez's previous novel, Gil's All Fright Diner, did for horror--and elves and goblins may never be the same!


At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

 

About A. Lee Martinez

See more books from this Author
A. Lee Martinez was born in El Paso, Texas. At the age of eighteen, for no apparent reason, he started writing novels. Thirteen short years (and a little over a dozen manuscripts) later, his first novel, Gil's All Fright Diner, was published. His hobbies include juggling, games of all sorts, and astral projecting. Also, he likes to sing along with the radio when he's in the car by himself. For more information on the author, check out www.aleemartinez.com
 
Published April 3, 2007 by Tor Books. 340 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for In the Company of Ogres

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

If the members of Terry Pratchett's Night Watch and Robert Asprin's Phule's Company were conscripted into Mary Gentle's Grunts, the result would be something like this caustic genre-parodying second novel from Martinez (Gil's All-Fright Diner).

| Read Full Review of In the Company of Ogres

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Publisher's Weekly recommended Martinez's debut book, Gil's All Fright Diner, to fans of Douglas Adams, and I suspect that style of silly is what Martinez is aiming for with In the Company of Ogres.

Aug 11 2006 | Read Full Review of In the Company of Ogres

Fantasy Literature

As Ogre Company’s newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot...

| Read Full Review of In the Company of Ogres

Reader Rating for In the Company of Ogres
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 71 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×