Insignia by S. J. Kincaid
( Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .

 

About S. J. Kincaid

See more books from this Author
S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. Several years, several manuscripts, and several jobs later, Ms. Kincaid now lives outside of Chicago, IL, and Insignia is her debut novel. You can visit her online at www.sjkincaid.com.
 
Published July 10, 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books. 480 pages
Genres: Computers & Technology, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Insignia

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

An unlikely teen is selected to attend Hogwarts-at-the-Pentagon.

Jun 26 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Kincaid's debut novel, an ambitious, high-concept m%C3%A9lange of the teen hacker and teen spy genres (with some gaming elements included, too), occasionally struggles under its own weight, but still

Jun 08 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Booklist Online

But there’s good news—by subscribing today, you will receive 22 issues of Booklist magazine, 4 issues of Book Links, and single-login access to Booklist Online and over 180,000 reviews.

May 18 2017 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

The Bookbag

One horrific incident which occurs before the beginning of the book illustrates just how dependent every nation in the world is on these companies.

Aug 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Teen Reads

Tom soon learns, though, that this new life was bought at a price --- a price he might not be willing to pay.

Aug 18 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Common Sense Media

Set in a future in which large corporations -- not governments -- truly run the world, Tom, the son of compulsive gambler, provides for himself and his down-on-his luck dad by scamming virtual reality gamers in casinos.

Jul 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

Tom eventually helps fight a battle, but he's virtually controlling a ship in space, and there's no actual risk.

Jul 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Alice Marvels

I could not be more thrilled to report that Insignia, one of the most exciting debuts (and most exciting reads in general) of 2012, is officially going to be a movie!

Jun 01 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Alice Marvels

(If you’re a fan of Gibson and/or Rowling, you are aware of the badass story possibilities such a mashup promises.) Combining mind-bending technology, a thought-provoking future world of corporations on steroids and the puppet governments they control, and a likable-but-flawed guy who risks ever...

Jul 11 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

ReviewAtlas.com

Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom’s always wanted — friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters — but what will it cost him?

Aug 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Reader Rating for Insignia
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 169 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×