Insignia by S. J. Kincaid
( Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 8 Critic Reviews



"Insignia expertly combines humor with a disarming and highly realistic view of the future. The characters are real, funny, and memorable. You won't be able to put this book down."—Veronica Roth, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Divergent and Insurgent

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid's fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender's Game.

The planet's natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn't seem like a hero. He's a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom's life completely changes. Suddenly, he's someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there's a price to pay. . . .


About S. J. Kincaid

See more books from this Author
S. J. Kincaid was born in Alabama, grew up in California, and attended high school in New Hampshire. She also interned for a politician in Washington, DC, and received degrees from universities in Illinois and Ohio, but it was while living beside a haunted graveyard in Edinburgh, Scotland, that she realized she wanted to be a writer. Several years, several manuscripts, and several jobs later, Ms. Kincaid now lives outside of Chicago, IL, and Insignia is her debut novel. You can visit her online at
Published July 10, 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books. 480 pages
Genres: Computers & Technology, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Insignia

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Tom quickly makes friends (warm and funny boy, Asperger's-like girl, goofy boy) and enemies (vicious boy, borderline-crazy professor).

Jun 15 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

The Bookbag

One horrific incident which occurs before the beginning of the book illustrates just how dependent every nation in the world is on these companies.

Aug 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Teen Reads

Tom soon learns, though, that this new life was bought at a price --- a price he might not be willing to pay.

Aug 18 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Common Sense Media

Set in a future in which large corporations -- not governments -- truly run the world, Tom, the son of compulsive gambler, provides for himself and his down-on-his luck dad by scamming virtual reality gamers in casinos.

Jul 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

The Overflowing Library

I loved Tom and that meant I was completely behind him from the start and wanted to find out more about how he was, what he was involved it and, if I'm honest, by the end of the book I wanted to be his very own cheerleader at the sidelines when he was fighting.

Aug 02 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Alice Marvels

(If you’re a fan of Gibson and/or Rowling, you are aware of the badass story possibilities such a mashup promises.) Combining mind-bending technology, a thought-provoking future world of corporations on steroids and the puppet governments they control, and a likable-but-flawed guy who risks ever...

Jul 11 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Life at the Spire holds everything that Tom’s always wanted — friends, the possibility of a girlfriend, and a life where his every action matters — but what will it cost him?

Aug 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Insignia (Insignia Trilogy)

Reader Rating for Insignia

An aggregated and normalized score based on 169 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review