Into the Minds of Madmen by Don Denevi
How the Fbi's Behavioral Science Unit Revolutionized Crime Investigation

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


When law enforcement struggles to solve a serial murder, arson, rape, or child abduction, and is making little headway, it turns to the FBI’s legendary Behavioral Science Unit (BSU) at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Over the past three decades, more than thirty members of this elite team have worked to capture countless elusive criminals. Rarely have they been appreciated. Never has their story been told.
Now, at the suggestion of Stephen Band, the current Chief of the BSU, the inside story has been written by John Campbell, former BSU Chief (1989-1992) and Don DeNevi, author of many highly acclaimed true-crime books. In a fascinating account, full of quiet heroics and grisly criminal details, the authors describe the difficult work of the tireless professionals who have devoted their careers to investigating and analyzing the deeds and personalities of the macabre psychopaths who haunt our streets.
In contrast to well-known fictional depictions, like The Silence of the Lambs and The X-Files, DeNevi and Campbell’s real-life perspective shows that the true story is more engrossing, indeed astonishing, than any movie or novel. The authors reveal how this crack unit developed a new technique, from a combination of psychological profiling and old-fashioned detective work, which succeeded in cracking a host of difficult cases, including serial murders, hostage taking, and terrorism. Readers experience what it is like to crawl into the twisted minds of notorious criminals, as psychological profilers must do to learn their motivations, patterns, and probable next move.
This unique oral history will provide fascinating reading for fans of C.S.I., Profiler, and other similar dramas, and is also a long overdue and fitting tribute to the heroic men and women of the Behavioral Science Unit, who fight everyday to keep Americans safe.

About Don Denevi

See more books from this Author
Don DeNevi (Menlo Park, CA) is the author, or coauthor, of thirty-two books, including Mob Nemesis-How the FBI Crippled Organized Crime (with FBI Special Agent in Charge Joe Griffin) and Riddle of the Rock: The Only Successful Escape from Alcatraz. Having previously taught in the criminal justice department at San Francisco State University, he now teaches and counsels the condemned on San Quentin's death row. John H. Campbell, Ph.D. (St. Cloud, MN), is a professor in the criminal justice department at St. Cloud State University and the former Unit Chief of the FBI's Behavioral Science Unit.
Published November 1, 2003 by Prometheus Books. 438 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Crime, Law & Philosophy. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review