Island Justice by Elizabeth Winthrop

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

ISLAND JUSTICE

A Novel

by Elizabeth Winthrop

People Magazine Beach Read of the Week

“Evocative… richly drawn characters…suspenseful storytelling.”




All her life, Maggie Hammond has been running--from her family, from the men who want to tie her down, from the fear of having to depend on anybody but herself. For Maggie, home means her beloved godmother, Nan. Then word comes that Nan has died and has willed Maggie her seaside Victorian house. When Maggie lands on the island one October day, she is intending to stay a few weeks. But soon after she arrives, she makes a gruesome discovery on the beach that catapults her into the middle of the year-round island community and its strange cast of characters.
A beautifully observed novel in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Alice Hoffman, Island Justice sets an independent woman's struggle to trust the pulls of her heart against the backdrop of a community which must come to terms with its own conscience and the true meaning of justice.


ELIZABETH WINTHROP is the author of In My Mother’s House. Her short fiction has appeared in BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES and FICTION 100 . Twice a winner of the PEN Syndicated Fiction Award, she is also the author of over fifty books for children, including the highly acclaimed The Castle in the Attic and Counting on Grace. Ms. Winthrop lives in New York City and the Berkshires.
 

About Elizabeth Winthrop

See more books from this Author
Elizabeth Winthrop is the author of over 40 books for children, from picture books to YA novels, including her Clarion titles, THE LITTLE HUMPBACKED HORSE and AS THE CROW FLIES. Her book for Holiday House, CASTLE IN THE ATTIC, received many awards. VASILISSA THE BEAUTIFUL (HarperCollins) was on the IRA Teacher's Choice and Children's Choice lists.
 
Published September 15, 2011 by ELIZABETH WINTHROP. 356 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Island Justice

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Winthrop does best in portraying Erin’s baffled awareness of sex--several scenes involving kids are among the book’s sharpest--but she labors too much in distinguishing “island people” from their less communal mainland counterparts (“we jump when the siren goes off and take chances when somebody’...

| Read Full Review of Island Justice

People

It's about 12 miles long and three miles wide, but what the unnamed New England island at the heart of Elizabeth Winthrop's evocative new novel lacks in size it more than makes up for with intrigue.

Jul 27 1998 | Read Full Review of Island Justice

Reader Rating for Island Justice
70%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review