J.R.R. Tolkien by Tom Shippey
Author of the Century

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The definitive critical study of Tolkien’s greatest works by the respected and world renowned Tolkien scholar Professor T.A. Shippey.

Following the unprecedented and universal acclaim for The Lord of the Rings, the respected academic and world-renowned Tolkien scholar, Professor Tom Shippey, presents us with a fascinating and informed companion to the world of J.R.R. Tolkien, in particular focusing on The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion.

Written in a clear and accessible style, Tolkien: Author of the Century reveals why all of these books will be timeless, and shows how even such complex works as The Silmarillion can be read enjoyably. Taking issue with the uninformed criticism that has often been levelled at Tolkien and fantasy in general, Professor Shippey offers a new approach to Tolkien, to fantasy and to the importance of language in literature, and demonstrates how his books form part of a live and continuing tradition of storytelling that can trace its roots back through Grimm's Fairy Tales to the Elder Edda and Beowulf.

Note that it has not been possible to include the same picture content that appeared in the original print version.

 

About Tom Shippey

See more books from this Author
Professor Tom Shippey taught at Oxford, overlapping chronologically with Professor Tolkien and teaching the same syllabus, giving him an intimate familiarity with the poems and the languages which formed the main stimulus to Tolkien’s imagination. He subsequently held the same Chair of English Language and Medieval Literature at Leeds University which Tolkien held early in his career, and currently holds the Walter J. Ong Chair of Humanities at Saint Louis University, USA.
 
Published April 28, 2011 by HarperCollins. 388 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for J.R.R. Tolkien

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

JRR Tolkien: Author of the Century Tom Shippey HarperCollins, £16.99, 348pp Buy it at BOL JRR Tolkien's chief contribution to the literature of the 20th century was to ignore it almost completely.

Sep 02 2000 | Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

JRR Tolkien: Author of the Century Tom Shippey HarperCollins £16.99, pp362 Buy it at BOL Tom Shippey emerged as one of Tolkien's most acute critics and convincing apologists with The Road to Middle Earth (1983), a nicely Tolkienian title.

Oct 08 2000 | Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

(Recent polls in Britain have consistently put The Lord of the Rings at the top of greatest books of the century lists.) Having taught the same Old English syllabus at Oxford that his subject once did, Shippey is especially well qualified to discuss Tolkien's Anglo-Saxon sources, notably Beowulf,...

| Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

London Review of Books

For Tolkien fans, as for fans of Joyce or Beckett, the sterility of the exercise is surely part of the appeal.[1] The big man of Tolkien criticism is Tom Shippey, who has now written two books on the topic.

| Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

Project MUSE

Tolkien, Author of the Century (2000), Brian Rosebury attempts to persuade these nay-sayers of Tolkien's writerly eminence once more in Tolkien: A Cultural Phenomenon, an expanded version of his earlier book Tolkien: A Critical Assessment (1992).

| Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

Project MUSE

Tolkien: Author of the Century—in my view the best book yet written on The Lord of the Rings—routinely appears on the "Tolkien table" in megachain bookstores, right next to glossy coffee table books full of pictures from the movies.

| Read Full Review of J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the...

Reader Rating for J.R.R. Tolkien
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 46 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review