Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 4 by Jack Kirby

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



After co-creating comic book heroes including The Fantastic Four, The Hulk and The X-Men, legendary writer/artist Jack Kirby came to DC Comics in 1970 to publish his magnum opus: four interlocked adventures series that were known collectively as "The Fourth World."

This fourth and final volume collects the remaining issues of these four classic series -- THE NEW GODS, THE FOREVER PEOPLE, MISTER MIRACLE and SUPERMAN'S PAL JIMMY OLSEN -- in chronological order as they originally appeared. Also included in this volume are Kirby's sequel to THE NEW GODS, plus the graphic novel THE HUNGER DOGS and rarely seen Kirby art from DC's WHO'S WHO series, all from the mid-1980s.


About Jack Kirby

See more books from this Author
Jack "King" Kirby's comics career began in 1937 and continued for nearly six decades. With partner Joe Simon, Kirby first made his mark in comics in the 1940s by drawing and/or creating numerous features for DC Comics including Captain America, the Young Allies, the Kid Commandos, Sandman, the Newsboy Legion and Manhunter. As the most valued team in comics, Simon and Kirby went on to create titles and concepts including Fighting American, Boys' Ranch and the creation of the romance comics genre. In 1961, the first issue of Marvel's Fantastic Four cemented Kirby's reputation as comics' preeminent creator, and a slew of famous titles followed that elevated him to legendary status, including Incredible Hulk, Avengers and X-Men. Kirby returned to DC in 1971 with his classic "Fourth World Trilogy," which was followed by The Demon, Omac and Kamandi. Kirby continued working and innovating in comics until his death in 1994.
Published March 26, 2008 by DC Comics. 424 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 4

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Taking another look at the comics legend Jack Kirby, Eric Shanower’s “Age of Bronze” and Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra’s “Y: The Last Man.”

Jun 01 2008 | Read Full Review of Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omn...

Reader Rating for Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 4

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review