James Fenimore Cooper by James Fenimore Cooper
The Leatherstocking Tales I: The Pioneers, The Last of the Mohicans, The Prairie (The Library of America): 1

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


James Fenimore Cooper’s epic of the American frontier follows the exploits of the scout Natty Bumppo, “Leatherstocking,” from the French and Indian Wars to the early nineteenth century; here the five novels are gathered for the first time in two volumes in the order of the their original publication. Leatherstocking first appears in The Pioneers as an aged hunter caught up in the struggle to determine what kind of civilization will replace the vanishing wilderness. The Last of the Mohicans is a pure unabashed adventure story, in which Natty and his Indian companions Chingachgook and Uncas attempt a daring rescue while the French threaten to invade the American colonies. In The Prairie, Natty, in his eighties, is driven to refuge on the Great Plains, where sioux, Pawnee, outlaw whites, and members of the Lewis and Clark expedition enact a fateful drama. A companion volume gathers The Pathfinder and The Deerslayer.

About James Fenimore Cooper

See more books from this Author
Published May 8, 2013 by The Library of America. 1347 pages
Genres: History, Westerns, Literature & Fiction. Fiction