Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook and Kitchen Reader by Jan Karon
Recipes from Mitford Cooks, Favorite Tales from Mitford Books

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Millions of Mitford fans around the world will agree—it’s easy to put on a pound or two reading a Mitford novel. Scene after scene of the bestselling series’ colorful characters enjoying tantalizing dishes can immediately start a craving. Then, before you know it, you’ve read several pages by the glow of the refrigerator lightbulb. Packed with more than 150 recipes from the Mitford novels and from the author’s own recipe box, Jan Karon’s Mitford Cookbook & Kitchen Reader is loaded with tips, hints, jokes, culinary quotes, and delightful side-dish sidebars guaranteed to start a stomach rumbling. From Miss Sadie’s Apple Pie to Puny’s Cornbread, from Emma’s Pork Roast to Marge’s Sweet Tea with Peppermint, beloved characters come alive through their own favorite recipes. Here, too, are Karon’s reminiscences of her own family’s food traditions and—as dessert—four stories never before published in her books.

Jan Karon’s Mitford Cookbook & Kitchen Reader is a charming companion to the Mitford series that will have readers clamoring to bring into their own kitchens the aromas and flavors that swirl within the little town with the big heart.

 

About Jan Karon

See more books from this Author
Jan Karon, born Janice Meredith Wilson in the foothills of North Carolina, was named after the title of a popular novel, Janice Meredith. Jan wrote her first novel at the age of ten. "The manuscript was written on Blue Horse notebook paper, and was, for good reason, kept hidden from my sister. When she found it, she discovered the one curse word I had, with pounding heart, included in someone's speech. For Pete's sake, hadn't Rhett Butler used that very same word and gotten away with it? After my grandmother's exceedingly focused reproof, I've written books without cussin' ever since." Several years ago, Karon left a successful career in advertising to move to the mountain village of Blowing Rock, North Carolina, and write books. "I stepped out on faith to follow my lifelong dream of being an author," she says. "I made real sacrifices and took big risks. But living, it seems to me, is largely about risk." Enthusiastic booksellers across the country have introduced readers of all ages to Karon's heartwarming books. At Home in Mitford, Karon's first book in the Mitford series, was nominated for an ABBY by the American Booksellers Association in 1996 and again in 1997. Bookstore owner, Shirley Sprinkle, says, "The Mitford Books have been our all-time fiction bestsellers since we went in business twenty-five years ago. We've sold 10,000 of Jan's books and don't see any end to the Mitford phenomenon."
 
Published October 21, 2004 by Viking Adult. 384 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Cooking. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook and Kitchen Reader

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Father Tim assumes the role of confidant and adviser to the Conors and their extended family, investigating a burglary, helping unburden Liam and Anna of long-held secrets, and aiding Liam's alcoholic mother to recover her lost faith.

Aug 30 2010 | Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this fourth book of the Mitford Years series (following At Home with Mitford, A Light in the Window and These High, Green Hills), Karon continues to develop her Heartland of America town.

| Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this fifth volume of Karon's popular series (Out to Canaan, etc.) set in the quaint North Carolina town of Mitford, where people chuckle and say ""dadgummit,"" Father Timothy Kavanagh is leaving town for a post-retirement interim appointment at a small island parish off the coast of North Caro...

| Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Karon draws readers into a cozy Mitford short story centered around the town's familiar and beloved eccentrics.

| Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Fans of Mitford, Karon's delightful fictional village in western North Carolina, will be thrilled with this newest installment, which relates an episode she skipped over in her earlier books: Father Tim and Cynthia's wedding.

| Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The first two novels in Karon's Mitford series chronicle the everyday eccentricities of a small North Carolina town.

| Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Book Reporter

If you've long salivated over author Jan Karon's many descriptions of food in her Mitford novels, you'll be delighted to find Viking has at long last assembled the recipes into one delectable volume, JAN KARON'S MITFORD COOKBOOK & KITCHEN READER.

Jan 22 2011 | Read Full Review of Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook ...

Reader Rating for Jan Karon's Mitford Cookbook and Kitchen Reader
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 132 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×