Joe Golem and the Drowning City by Mike Mignola

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

The only small disappointment in this book is that the focus has a habit of slipping away from the more original, eccentric, and (to me) interesting characters.
-BrodartVibe's Blog

Synopsis

In 1925, earthquakes and a rising sea level left Lower Manhattan submerged under more than thirty feet of water, so that its residents began to call it the Drowning City. Those unwilling to abandon their homes created a new life on streets turned to canals and in buildings whose first three stories were underwater. Fifty years have passed since then, and the Drowning City is full of scavengers and water rats, poor people trying to eke out an existence, and those too proud or stubborn to be defeated by circumstance.

Among them are fourteen-year-old Molly McHugh and her friend and employer, Felix Orlov. Once upon a time Orlov the Conjuror was a celebrated stage magician, but now he is an old man, a psychic medium, contacting the spirits of the departed for the grieving loved ones left behind. When a seance goes horribly wrong, Felix Orlov is abducted by strange men wearing gas masks and rubber suits, and Molly soon finds herself on the run.

Her flight will lead her into the company of a mysterious man, and his stalwart sidekick, Joe Golem, whose own past is a mystery to him, but who walks his own dreams as a man of stone and clay, brought to life for the sole purpose of hunting witches.

 

About Mike Mignola

See more books from this Author
MIKE MIGNOLA is best known as the award-winning creator/writer/artist of Hellboy. Mignola lives in southern California with his wife, daughter, and cat. CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, bestselling author of such novels as The Myth Hunters, The Boys Are Back in Town, Strangewood, and Of Saints and Shadows. He co-wrote the lavishly illustrated novel Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire with Mike Mignola, and the comic book series featuring the same character.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by St. Martin's Press. 284 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Comics & Graphic Novels, Horror. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Joe Golem and the Drowning City
All: 4 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 3

Slant Magazine

Excellent
Reviewed by Indrapramit Das on Mar 19 2012

Fast-paced and entertaining, the novel's an easy recommendation for fans of Mignola and Golden.

Read Full Review of Joe Golem and the Drowning City

My Entertainment World

Below average
Reviewed by Borah Coburn on Apr 30 2012

And that’s not to say that the story cuts off unexpectedly, or is unsatisfying, or something, but I just feel like there’s more there to explore that we haven’t really gotten to yet (and that I’d like to).

Read Full Review of Joe Golem and the Drowning City

BrodartVibe's Blog

Below average
Reviewed by Todd on Feb 14 2012

The only small disappointment in this book is that the focus has a habit of slipping away from the more original, eccentric, and (to me) interesting characters.

Read Full Review of Joe Golem and the Drowning City

Fanboy Confidential

Below average
Reviewed by Maurice on May 09 2012

Joe Golem is a good book, but could have been great. It wasn’t one big thing that caused it to falter, but a few small almost imperceptible things.

Read Full Review of Joe Golem and the Drowning City

Reader Rating for Joe Golem and the Drowning City
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×