Jubilee King by Jesse Shepard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



"In his debut story collection, set mostly in Northern California, Jesse Shepard proves tough, canny, wildly inventive."-Seattle Times In the tradition of Sherwood Anderson and Flannery O'Connor, Jubilee King offers spare and deft navigations of the distance between people, between words, between moments. Jesse Shepard finds evidence of the grotesque in the everyday, the meaningful in the mundane. From a series of small but momentous occurrences, he has spun to a spirited and assured debut.

About Jesse Shepard

See more books from this Author
Jesse Shepard lives in Northern California.
Published December 4, 2008 by Bloomsbury USA. 194 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Jubilee King

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In “Night Shot,” the type-cast cowboys are ignorable, but the uneasy horses they’re in charge of on a movie set are vivid, charactered, and real, and the same is true—both of horses and cowboys—in “Thirty Head of Killers.” The closest to a fictional balance between man and beast is in the title s...

| Read Full Review of Jubilee King

Rate this book!

Add Review