Jubilee by Patricia Reilly Giff

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The prose is graceful and brimming with potent physical details, but the adults are alarmingly mature—except for Jubilee’s birth mother. An appealing story weighed down by its protagonist’s self-pity.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Newbery Honor–winning author Patricia Reilly Giff writes a tender, timeless story about a girl who stopped speaking long ago, and how she finds her way back to her voice. For fans of Listening for Lucca, Fish in a Tree, The Rules, and Mockingbird.
 
Judith lives with her beloved aunt Cora and her faithful Dog on a beautiful island. Years ago, when her mother left, Judith stopped talking. Now she communicates entirely through gestures and taps, and by drawing cartoons, speaking only when she’s alone—or with Dog.
 
This year, Judith faces a big change—leaving her small, special classroom for a regular fifth-grade class. She likes her new teacher, and finds a maybe-friend in a boy named Mason. But Jubilee’s wandering feet won’t stop until they find her mother. And now she discovers that her mother has moved back to the mainland, nearby. If Jubilee finds her, will her mother’s love be what she needs to speak again?
 
Judith’s cartoons, sprinkled throughout, add lightness and humor
 

About Patricia Reilly Giff

See more books from this Author
PATRICIA REILLY GIFF is the author of many beloved books for children, including the Kids of the Polk Street School books. Her novels for older readers include the Newbery Honor books Lily's Crossing and Pictures of Hollis Woods, and Willow Run, a companion to Lily's Crossing. Her most recent books are the novels R My Name Is Rachel, Storyteller, and Wild Girl, and the Zigzag titles, Number One Kid, Big Whopper, Flying Feet, and Star Time.
 
Published September 13, 2016 by Wendy Lamb Books. 160 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Health, Fitness & Dieting.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Jubilee
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on May 14 2016

The prose is graceful and brimming with potent physical details, but the adults are alarmingly mature—except for Jubilee’s birth mother. An appealing story weighed down by its protagonist’s self-pity.

Read Full Review of Jubilee | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×