Juggernaut by Adam Baker

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

 “A high-voltage shock to the system. It’s smart, witty, crammed with action and disturbingly plausible. Highly recommended.” –Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Assassin’s Code

 

A brilliant, gripping portrait of survival in the face of complete annihilation perfect for fans of Jonathan Maberry and Guillermo Del Toro's The Strain

 

THEY SEARCHED FOR GOLD. THEY FOUND DEATH.

           

Iraq 2005. Seven mercenaries hear an enticing rumor: somewhere, abandoned in the swirling desert sands, lies an abandoned Republican Guard convoy containing millions of pounds of Saddam's gold.  They form an unlikely crew of battle-scarred privateers, killers and thieves, veterans of a dozen war zones, each of them anxious to make one last score before their luck runs out. 

 

After liberating the sole surviving Guard member from US capture, the team makes their way to the ancient ruins where the convoy was last seen.  Although all seems eerily quiet and deserted when they arrive, they soon find themselves caught in a desperate battle for their lives, confronted by greed, betrayal, and an army that won't stay dead.

 

An unputdownable military thriller that SFFworld.com called "Three Kings meets The Walking Dead,” Juggernaut is a heart-pounding, fast-paced read that doesn’t let up until the last page.

 

About Adam Baker

See more books from this Author
ADAM BAKER  has worked as a gravedigger, a mortuary attendant, a short order cook in a New York diner, and fixed slot machines in an Atlantic City casino. He was also a close neighbour of the notorious British serial killer Fred West.  He is currently employed as a cinema projectionist in England.
 
Published April 2, 2013 by Thomas Dunne Books. 320 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Horror, War. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Juggernaut

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

British author Baker (Outpost) makes his U.S. debut with a top-notch horror thriller, set in Iraq. Three top-secret 2005 CIA communiqués from Baghdad Station, dated August 25, 2005, referring to a con

Feb 11 2013 | Read Full Review of Juggernaut

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A rogue band of mercenaries discover more resistance than they imagined during a coordinated assault on Saddam Hussein's treasure trove.

Mar 19 2013 | Read Full Review of Juggernaut

Starburst Magazine

In Juggernaut, prequel to the successful Outpost, we follow Lucy and her group of hardened mercenary’s intent on recovering gold hidden deep in the Iraqi desert.

| Read Full Review of Juggernaut

Reader Rating for Juggernaut
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×