Lament for the Makers by W. S. Merwin
A Memorial Anthology

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



"A small but rich anthology of poems by twentieth-century practitioners who influenced Merwin". Publishers Weekly

This beautifully packaged anthology begins with a memorial poem W S. Merwin honoring twenty-three great modern poets, all of whom died during his lifetime. It continues with representative works, photographs, and brief biographies of each. among them Dylan Thomas, Wallace Stevens, Sylvia Plath, Robert Frost, T. S. Eliot, Randall Jarrell, John Berryman, W. H. Auden, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, Robert Lowell, Elizabeth Bishop, James Wright, and James Merrill.


About W. S. Merwin

See more books from this Author
Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and essayist W. S. Merwin was born in New York City in 1927. Merwin has won numerous prizes, including the Tanning Prize, the Bollingen Prize and the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. He is the author of fifteen books of poetry, numerous plays, nearly twenty books of translation and four books of prose. Merwin was named the 17th Library of Congress Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry.
Published November 1, 1996 by Counterpoint. 89 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lament for the Makers

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

""Our plesance here is all vain-glory/ This false warld is bot transitory,"" wrote William Dunbar in his 16th-century poem, ""Lament for the Makaris."" The piece was not only a meditation on death but a memorial to a slew of influential writers (Chaucer, and the like) who had passed on.

| Read Full Review of Lament for the Makers: A Memo...

Rate this book!

Add Review