Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



"A book to savor."-Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

We all make mistakes. Some we can fix.
But what happens when we can't?

Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time.

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness.

"Sparked my interest from the start...charming."-Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI

"This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books


About Liz Trenow

See more books from this Author
Liz worked for many years as a journalist for national and regional newspapers, and for BBC radio and television news, and is now a full time writer.
Published April 2, 2013 by Sourcebooks Landmark. 413 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Last Telegram

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A routine World War II romance, Trenow's debut, is distinguished by the author's smooth-as-silk delivery.

Mar 19 2013 | Read Full Review of Last Telegram

Reader Rating for Last Telegram

An aggregated and normalized score based on 137 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review