Life Before by Michele Bacon

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Seventeen years is a long time to keep secrets, and Xander Fife has gotten very good at it. Everyone believes he has a normal life and a normal family. If he can just get through this summer, he'll start his real life in college with a clean slate--no risk, no drama, no fear.

Even better, his plans for summer are awesome: lots of pick-up soccer, relaxing afternoons with friends, and an epic road trip. Xander is banking on some long overdue nights with his ideal girlfriend, the amazing Gretchen Taylor.

Instead of kicking off what had promised to be an amazing summer, however, graduation day brings terror. His family's secrets are thrust out into the open, and Xander must confront his greatest fear. And survive doing so.

Armed with a fake ID, cash, and a knife, Xander skips town and assumes a new identity. Hundreds of miles from home and in danger, one thing is clear: Xander's real life is already in progress and just getting through it isn't enough.

Fans of Ellen Hopkins's Burned and Smoked, as well as Matt de la Pena's We Were Here will be drawn to Michele Bacon's debut.
 

About Michele Bacon

See more books from this Author
Michele Bacon writes contemporary fiction for adults and young adults. Most of her stories begin as ideas scrawled on random scraps of paper, stuffed into pockets or joining her computer-bag detritus. Life Before is her debut novel. Michele lives in Seattle, Washington, with her husband and three small children.
 
Published June 7, 2016 by Sky Pony Press. 288 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Life Before

Gr 9 Up—A riveting story told in a voice that will resonate with teens. Typical high school senior Xander Fife is looking forward to graduation and an infinite summer of adventures with his friends. He has finally captured the attention of the girl of his dreams and has been accepted into a prest...

Jun 01 2016 | Read Full Review of Life Before

Reader Rating for Life Before
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×