Lily the Silent by Tod Davies
The History of Arcadia

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



“Look inside this world and find wonder.” —KATE BERNHEIMER, editor of My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me

Lily leads a serene life in Arcadia until the forces of Megalopolis invade. Rescued from slavery by a prince of Megalopolis, Lily is sent to retrieve a very important key. Aided by her friends, her dog Rex, and even Death herself, Lily’s adventures take her from the Moons to the Bottom of the Sea, and finally back to Megalopolis, where she faces the decision of her life. Will she choose True Love and relinquish the key to those in Power or will she risk everything for who she is and return the key to Arcadia?

Narrated by Lily's daughter, Sophia the Wise, this is a story about a girl who learns to live by her own light and—no matter how reluctantly—become the queen her people need. Full of Arcadian legends, it is also a fairy tale within a fairy tale about a troubled world not unlike our own, as well as a beautifully illustrated sequel to Snotty Saves the Day, which critics and booksellers hailed as “Lewis Carroll with footnotes by Jonathan Swift,” while comparing it to authors whose work can be savored by readers of all ages: Susanna Clark, C.S. Lewis, George Orwell, and L. Frank Baum.

The History of Arcadia series tells the story of a world that was literally formed by a story, by one person discovering and claiming who she really is . . . and of the subsequent events that led first to a deceptively happy world, then to an inevitably tragic outcome, and finally to a slow rebuilding of the world on foundations more deeply and thoughtfully laid. Each book includes bonus Arcadian legends and fairy tales, and relates how the manuscript crossed the barriers between Arcadia and our own world to arrive at Exterminating Angel Press. The first two novels in the series are Snotty Saves the Day and Lily the Silent.

Tod Davies lives with her husband and her two dogs in the alpine valley of Colestin, in Oregon, where she discovered Snotty Saves the Day, the first Arcadian manuscript, and at the foot of the Rocky Mountains, in Boulder, Colorado.

Illustrator Mike Madrid, a native San Franciscan, is the author of Divas, Dames & Daredevils: Lost Heroines of Golden Age Comics and The Supergirls: Fashion, Feminism, Fantasy, and the History of Comic Book Heroines.

About Tod Davies

See more books from this Author
Tod Daviesis the author of the cooking memoirJam Today: A Diary of Cooking With What You’ve GotandSnotty Saves the Day,the first book in The History of Arcadia series.Lily the Silent,the second of these books from another land, continues to show how fairy tales make a world, and how changing the story can change a world—for better or for worse. Unsurprisingly, her attitude toward literature is the same as her attitude toward cooking—it’s all about working with what you have to find new ways of looking and new ways of being, and in doing so, to rediscover the best of our humanity. Davies now lives with her husband Alex, and her two dogs, in the alpine valley of Colestin, Oregon, and at the foot of the Rocky Mountains, in Boulder, Colorado.Mike Madrid, a native San Franciscan, is the designer and Popular Culture Editor for Exterminating Angel Press. He is also the illustrator ofLily the Silent: The History of Arcadiaby Tod Davies and author ofThe Supergirls: Fashion, Feminism, Fantasy, and the History of Comic Book Heroines.
Published October 23, 2012 by Exterminating Angel Press. 224 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lily the Silent

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Davies continues exploring how beliefs create a new reality for the believer, but squanders some of the pleasures of 2011’s Snotty Saves the Day.

Jul 09 2012 | Read Full Review of Lily the Silent: The History ...

Rate this book!

Add Review