Listen, 7th edition by Joseph Kerman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Consistently praised as the best book of its kind, Listen uses readable, enjoyable prose and the highest quality recordings to introduce students to the art of focused listening. Captivating discussions and concise "Listening Charts" guide students through important musical works and cultivate listening skills. With informative images, useful historical and cultural background, and interesting biographical information, the text continues to offer students the best preparation to appreciate the styles and traditions of Western music. The seventh edition of Listen is more accessible than ever before with new, more teachable listening examples and a more focused and streamlined introduction to music fundamentals. An expanded range of formats for the text and recordings—including a new, affordable streaming music option and a new, all-inclusive e-book—gives you more flexible choices and more ways to listen.

About Joseph Kerman

See more books from this Author
Joseph Kerman (born 1924) is a writer on music and a musicologist. He is a professor emeritus at University of California, Berkeley. His many works include The Elizabethan Madrigal (1962), The Beethoven Quartets (1967), The Kafka Sketchbook (1970), The Masses and Motets of William Byrd (1980), The New Grove Beethoven (1983, with Alan Tyson), Contemplating Music: Challenges to Musicology (1985), Opera as Drama (1988), Write All These Down (1994), Opera and the Morbidity of Music (2008), and many more.
Published January 6, 2011 by Bedford/St. Martin's. 480 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for Listen, 7th edition

An aggregated and normalized score based on 10 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review