Listening for Lucca by Suzanne LaFleur

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Events and characters are fully developed and are completely believable, without any sense of contrivance. Tender and brave, Siena is a heroine to be admired.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine hoping that it will mean a  whole new start for Lucca and Siena. She soon realizes that their wonderful old house on the beach holds secrets. When Siena writes in her diary with an old pen she found in her closet, the pen writes its own story, of Sarah and Joshua, a brother and sister who lived in the same house during World War II. As the two stories unfold, amazing parallels begin to appear, and Siena senses that Sarah and Joshua's story might contain the key to unlocking Lucca's voice.
 

About Suzanne LaFleur

See more books from this Author
SUZANNE LAFLEUR received her MFA in writing for children from The New School. This is her second novel.
 
Published August 6, 2013 by Wendy Lamb Books. 242 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Listening for Lucca
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Jun 17 2013

...an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me.

Read Full Review of Listening for Lucca | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Excellent
on Jun 08 2013

Events and characters are fully developed and are completely believable, without any sense of contrivance. Tender and brave, Siena is a heroine to be admired.

Read Full Review of Listening for Lucca | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Listening for Lucca
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 95 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×