Little Man, and the Dixon County War by Stan R. Mitchell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Stan R. Mitchell, the highly touted author of the Marine Sniper novel "Sold Out," lays down the lead in this epic Western tale -- a story of how even good must often become soiled in order to win.

"Little Man, and the Dixon County War" is a fast-paced, action-packed book set in the Western era. Fans of "Appaloosa" and "Django Unchained" will almost certainly enjoy it.

Book description:

Young Deputy Marshal Paul Zachary shouldn't have accepted that badge. And he certainly shouldn't have shot down a ruthless gun fighter in front of a crowd of onlookers at Belleville's busiest saloon.

But now that the smell of gunpowder has faded and the blood has been scrubbed off the floor, Zachary is something he never wanted to be: a damned hero.

And whether he wanted it or not, the 27-year-old Zachary has earned a big-time reputation, as well as the name "Little Man" -- a derogatory term initially used by a famous gunfighter to describe his lack of age and stature.

Unfortunately for Zachary, his exploits in the newspapers are bringing people hope in the crime-ridden West, where lawless land barons push the weak, and sworn law officers balance keeping the peace and staying alive.

The kind of hope that Zachary brings can't go on, so the West's most powerful cattle baron -- McConnell -- decides he must kill this increasingly legendary law officer.

McConnell can't get at the cautious Zachary on his home ground, so McConnell dispatches an evil gang of gunhands to kill Zachary's best friend and abduct the man's wife.

McConnell knows Zachary will come to rescue the woman and in doing so, will enter Dixon County, or what the locals call Devil's County. Here, in this godforsaken stretch of country, McConnell owns most of the land and ALL of the law.

In order to save the woman, Zachary must achieve what even the Army couldn't pull off: Cleaning out the lair of murderers, thieves, and cowhands who answer only to McConnell.

McConnell has bribed or buried every man who's ever stood up to him, including a good-sized Army detachment, so if Zachary plans to take down almost a hundred gunhands and rescue the wife of his murdered friend, he's going to need to round up some of the best fighters the West has seen.

Keeping these temperamental men together, while dodging traps, ambushes, and double-crosses at every turn, would prove a herculean task for a man twice Zachary's age, but the quiet Zachary is no pushover. He learned to fight, and fight hard, from being the youngest in a tough line of men who've never missed a war. And, Zachary just survived three long, hard years in a ragtag, Rebel cavalry troop charged with raiding Northern towns.

Now Zachary will attempt the impossible. He knows it may cost him his life, but some wrongs must be made right.

About Stan R. Mitchell

See more books from this Author
Stan R. Mitchell writes action-packed thrillers, which readers have compared to the works of Vince Flynn, Lee Child, and Stephen Hunter. He's the author of "Sold Out," "Soldier On," and "Little Man, and the Dixon County War."Mitchell grew up in the South, in the mountains of East Tennessee. He learned to hunt and shoot at a young age and joined the Marine Corps after high school, insisting his recruiter guarantee him in writing an infantry billet.During his time in the Marine Corps, Mitchell served as a rifleman and earned a Combat Action Ribbon when his platoon took part in hostilities in Albania in 1997 (Operation Silver Wake). He was honorably discharged as a Sergeant after four years of service.Mitchell entered college after the Marines, attending the University of Tennessee. Ambitious as always, he carried a heavy workload each semester and refused to take the summers off, instead going year-round and working close to 30 hours a week. He also launched a furniture assembly business on the side with a friend, and as fate would have it, this bout of entrepreneurship would not be his last.Following graduation from UT with a journalism degree, Mitchell worked as a reporter at several newspapers and refined his style of writing. But he would eventually feel the tug of entrepreneurship again, so he launched his own weekly newspaper at the age of 27.With just $20,000, Mitchell founded The Oak Ridge Observer in 2004. He would go on to call that decision something even crazier than entering Marine Corps boot camp at the age of 17. Despite a divorce, a near bankruptcy, and a bout practically homeless living in a friend's basement rent-free, Mitchell's newspaper managed to survive its early years and continues to grow more than eight years later. (He gives great credit to God, friends, family members, investors, and community supporters for the paper not failing during its many, many challenges in the early years; he also cites his own ignorance and youthful enthusiasm for the paper's survival, stating these days that he wouldn't attempt a similar feat with less than $250,000.)Mitchell lives in Oak Ridge, Tenn., and when he's not working at his newspaper with his wife Danah, he's usually either writing, working out, or practicing Shaolin Kung Fu.You can learn more about him here:
Published December 28, 2013 by Stan R. Mitchell. 264 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Westerns, Literature & Fiction, Crime, History, Action & Adventure, Romance. Fiction

Reader Rating for Little Man, and the Dixon County War

An aggregated and normalized score based on 62 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review