Little Mermaid & Other Tales by Hans Christian Andersen

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


- New Edition
- Annotated
- TOC & Navigation

The Little Mermaid lives in an underwater kingdom with her father, the sea king; her grandmother and her five elder sisters, each born one year apart. When a mermaid turns 15, she is allowed to swim to the surface to watch the world above, and as the sisters become old enough, one of them visits the surface every year. As each of them returns, the Little Mermaid listens longingly to their various descriptions of the surface and of human beings.

About Hans Christian Andersen

See more books from this Author
Hans Christian Andersen was a Danish fairy tale writer and poet who is most noted for his Fairy Tales, including the enduring children' s stories " The Snow Queen," " The Little Mermaid," " Thumbelina," and " The Ugy Duckling." Through his youth Andersen worked as a weaver' s apprentice and actor before turning to writing. Andersen' s works have been translated into more than 150 languages and have inspired countless films, plays, and ballets. Although Andersen died in 1875, the anniversary of his birthday (June 2) continues to celebrated each year as International Children' s Book Day. Hugaard was born in Denmark, but left when he was seventeen to travel extensively in the United States, Italy, and Spain. Now internationally known for his accomplishments as a playwright, poet, and translator, he has also won critical acclaim for his children's books.
Published October 15, 2012 by Sovereign. 384 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction