Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The resolution of the central mystery is anticlimactic, and as the story continues to chug along anyway, it becomes more and more dependent on coincidence and narrative leaps that are difficult to believe. Still, it’s hard to stop reading as these well-crafted characters confront middle age while confronting the defining event of their youth.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She's Not There

On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia’s Eastern State Penitentiary, looking for a thrill. With a pianist, a painter and a teacher among them, the friends are full of potential. But it’s not long before they realize they are locked in—and not alone. When the friends get lost and separated, the terrifying night ends in tragedy, and the unexpected, far-reaching consequences reverberate through the survivors’ lives. As they go their separate ways, trying to move on, it becomes clear that their dark night in the prison has changed them all. Decades later, new evidence is found, and the dogged detective investigating the cold case charges one of them—celebrity chef Jon Casey— with murder. Only Casey’s old friend Judith Carrigan can testify to his innocence.

But Judith is protecting long-held secrets of her own – secrets that, if brought to light, could destroy her career as a travel writer and tear her away from her fireman husband and teenage son. If she chooses to help Casey, she risks losing the life she has fought to build and the woman she has struggled to become. In any life that contains a “before” and an “after,” how is it possible to live one life, not two?

Weaving deftly between 1980 and the present day, and told in an unforgettable voice, Long Black Veil is an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love. Readers will hail this as Boylan’s triumphant return to fiction.
 

About Jennifer Finney Boylan

See more books from this Author
JENNIFER FINNEY BOYLAN is the New York Times bestselling author of twelve books, including She's Not There and I'm Looking Through You. She is also a regular contributor to Conde Nast Traveler and the op/ed page of the New York Times and a professor of English at Colby College in Maine. She has served on the judging committee of the Fulbright Scholars, administered by the US Department of State.
 
Published April 11, 2017 by Crown. 306 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Gay & Lesbian, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Long Black Veil
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Jan 23 2017

The resolution of the central mystery is anticlimactic, and as the story continues to chug along anyway, it becomes more and more dependent on coincidence and narrative leaps that are difficult to believe. Still, it’s hard to stop reading as these well-crafted characters confront middle age while confronting the defining event of their youth.

Read Full Review of Long Black Veil: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Long Black Veil
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×