Long Time, No See by Dermot Healy

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 8 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From “Ireland’s finest living novelist” (Roddy Doyle)—a funny, moving, exquisitely written novel about a community on the cusp of change
 
Acclaimed Irish author Dermot Healy’s first novel in more than ten years is a rich, beguiling, and wonderfully funny story about community, family, love, and bonds across generations, an epic in miniature that features an unforgettable cast of innocents and broken eccentrics. The novel presents the bemusing and unsettling misadventures of Philip Feeney, known to one and all as Mister Psyche, a teenager haunted by a recent traumatic event who takes up with two men some fifty years his senior. Its still, lyrical power casts a miraculous literary spell and will appeal to readers of William Trevor, Roddy Doyle, John McGahern, and Anne Enright.

 

About Dermot Healy

See more books from this Author
DERMOT HEALY is the author of three novels (including A Goat's Song), a memoir, a collection of stories, and five volumes of poetry. His prizes include the Hennessey Award for Short Stories, the Tom Gallon Award, and the Encore Award. He was the winner of the 2002 America Ireland Literary Award, which was funded by the America Ireland Fund and given in recognition of his contribution to Irish letters.
 
Published July 5, 2012 by Penguin Books. 444 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Long Time, No See

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When he’s not looking after Joejoe, Philip devotes his energy to building a wall for his mother’s future vegetable garden;

Jul 02 2012 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Two elderly men, Joejoe and the perfumed Blackbird, bound by a lifetime of friendship and enmity in a small Irish coastal town, are the focus of Long Time, No See, Dermot Healy's stately and amusing new novel.

Apr 02 2011 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Healy (A Goat’s Song) writes early on in his latest novel, “It’s extraordinary how ordinary life is,” and spends the remainder of the story exploring the mundane.

May 14 2012 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

“. . . a novel whose promise falls short.”

Jul 05 2012 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

Review (Barnes & Noble)

He built towards me, and I built away from him.

Jul 12 2012 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

Independent.ie

The setting is Ireland today, a Ballintra of The X Factor, McDonald's and Sky TV, where "we sold the sea to the EU" and people queue at a pass machine "like a line of communicants", but an Ireland in which the spirit of kinship still somehow prevails, with an unsentimental compassion and good hum...

Apr 09 2011 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

Independent.ie

If there really is no such thing as bad publicity, then Dermot Healy's new novel couldn't have had a more auspicious start, sparking as it did one of those furious rows which periodically grip the small world of Irish fiction.

Apr 10 2011 | Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

London Review of Books

It is the setting for Synge’s great drama The Playboy of the Western World, and has come to be associated with all that the Celtic Tiger was busy putting behind it: priestcraft, mythology, the Celtic Revival, folk wisdom, romantic nationalism, dancing at the crossroads, an English language replet...

| Read Full Review of Long Time, No See

Reader Rating for Long Time, No See
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×