Lost in Uttar Pradesh by Evan S. Connell
New and Selected Stories

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Evan S. Connell's restraint, concision, and perfect pitch lend themselves stunningly to the short story form. He intuitively senses when to explain and when to let silence stand in speech's stead. His characters—among them, a wanderer back from Spain, the corpulent Mr. Bemis, Katia and her lion—ring true not because the stories are filled with monumental events, but because they center around seemingly insignificant experiences that remain in the mind, imbued with a meaning ever difficult to define. Often we are left to float in their wake, ending in an ellipsis of sorts. Yet by Connell's mastery, even the voices that speak only once resonate beyond the final page.

About Evan S. Connell

See more books from this Author
Evan S. Connell was born August 17, 1924 in Kansas City, Missouri. He graduated from the University of Kansas in 1947. His first work, The Anatomy Lesson and Other Stories, was published in 1957. His first novel, Mrs. Bridge, was published in 1959. The sequel, Mr. Bridge, was published ten years later. In 1990, both novels were adapted into the film Mr. and Mrs. Bridge starring Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. He wrote more than 15 books during his lifetime including Son of the Morning Star: Custer and the Little Bighorn, The Patriot, The Diary of a Rapist, The Connoisseur, Deus Lo Volt!, and Lost in Uttar Pradesh. He died on January 10, 2013 at the age of 88.
Published July 1, 2008 by Counterpoint. 384 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lost in Uttar Pradesh

Open Letters Monthly

For sixty years, the great and shapeshifting American author Evan S. Connell has
woven strands of short stories through the fabric of his ongoing larger works.

| Read Full Review of Lost in Uttar Pradesh: New an...

Rate this book!

Add Review