Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde
A Thursday Next Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 18 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England





The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!



 

About Jasper Fforde

See more books from this Author
JASPER FFORDE is The New York Times bestselling author of the Thursday Next series, the Nursery Crimes series, and most recently the novel Shades of Grey. He lives in Wales.
 
Published February 24, 2004 by Penguin Books. 399 pages
Genres: History, Education & Reference, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Science & Math, Children's Books, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Lost in a Good Book

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Between teaching her “generic” houseboys Ibb and Obb how to cook, fending off hostile grammasites (literary parasites that infest a plot with gerunds), and facing Jurisfiction charges that she changed the ending of Jane Eyre, Thursday still has to find the time to solve the various crimes now spr...

Jan 01 2004 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

And Thursday, aware that “without entry to books I would never see Landen again,” goes bravely off into bookdom—abetted and hindered here and there by her hardboiled partner Bowden Cable, her time-traveling dad, and post-centenarian “Gran” (condemned to live until she has read “the ten most borin...

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Det. Thursday Next is back for another round of time traveling and bookish sleuthing after Fforde's successful debut, The Eyre Affair. Like his earlier novel,

Feb 24 2003 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Thursday, wanting to repair Brontë's original ending in which Jane ends up with "drippy" St John Rivers, crept up to Jane's window, and imitated Rochester's bellowing voice.

Jul 26 2003 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Those new to the Thursday Next series may feel as if they've fallen down the proverbial rabbit hole after listening to a few chapters of Fforde's newest mystery (after Eyre Affair), which is set entirely in other books.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Book Reporter

You don't have to have read Jasper Fforde's two previous novels in the Thursday Next series to enjoy his latest, THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS;

Jan 24 2011 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Entertainment Weekly

After her new hubby is erased by an evil corporation, Next book-hops into ''Sense and Sensibility'' with ''Great Expectations''' Miss Havisham, defends herself inside Kafka's ''The Trial,'' and springs a nemesis from the pages of Poe's ''The Raven.'' Brainier silliness is hard to find.

Apr 11 2003 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Pajiba

I loved Lost in a Good Book immeasurably, and I look forward to reading the next in the series, The Well of Lost Plots.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Reviewing the Evidence

If you are not familiar with Jasper Fforde's 2 previous books in the Thursday Next series, THE EYRE AFFAIR and LOST IN A GOOD BOOK, then THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS will be totally incomprehensible.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Reviewing the Evidence

In Fforde's world, characters can jump from book to book and interact with the characters in other books.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Reviewing the Evidence

Schitt-Hawse has her husband eradicated, but promises Thursday that if she figures out how to jump into the book and get Jack, then Landon Parke-Laine will be restored to her.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

SF Site

Jasper Fforde Website ISFDB Bibliography SF Site Review: The Eyre Affair SF Site Review: Lost In A Good Book SF Site Review: Lost In A Good Book Jasper Fforde's third Thursday Next novel is The Well of Lost Plots.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

SF Site

Part parody and part social satire, with a smack of the burlesque, a lack of background in literature will blunt some of the author's barbs, and a passing familiarity with Western literature, especially of the Elizabethan and 19th century periods, will help in picking up on all the various refere...

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

People

The title is literal for the characters in Fforde's enchanting sequel to last year's comic fantasy The Eyre Affair.

Apr 14 2003 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Bookmarks Magazine

Thursday Next is a literary detective in BookWorld, where time travel whisks characters across time and place, and literary characters jump from novel to novel.

Oct 23 2009 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Large Print Reviews

The high-spirited Thursday Next is back again in Jasper Fforde's third installment of the Thursday saga, The Well of Lost Plots.

Jan 22 2004 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Large Print Reviews

Then, after reading Lost in a Good Book, be sure to have The Well of Lost Plots, the third book in this series, on hand, as you will want to immediately read the next volume in this series so that you can see what Thursday will be up to next.

Jan 22 2004 | Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

The Zone

In this latest novel, the trequel, Thursday finds herself in a somewhat less auspicious fictional space, an unpublished, routine police procedural entitled 'Caversham Heights'.

| Read Full Review of Lost in a Good Book: A Thursd...

Reader Rating for Lost in a Good Book
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 215 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×