Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Etienne delivers a dystopian tale that deftly dissects stories—fairy tales, religious creation myths, political conspiracies—and develops a richly layered world drawn from such disparate cultures as Korean and Mexican.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

A thrilling fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Sarah Maas

Ravaged by a plague known as Red Death, the planet Gabriel, a former colony of Earth, is a barren wasteland. Since being abandoned by Earth 500 years ago, resources are scarce and life is cheap. To stay alive, the survivors, the Citizens, scavenge the remains of a now dead city, trading for food with the resource-rich Curadores, the only other survivors on Gabriel. Every old computer, every piece of wire, every scrap of metal counts. To steal is the ultimate sin. So when tough-as-nails seventeen-year-old Leica is caught doing just that, she's exiled and left to the mercy of Gabriel's unforgiving desert for the rest of her life.

While in exile, Leica discovers a mysterious shuttle, which may not only lead her home, but even more impossible—reestablish contact with Earth. Then Red Death rears its head again, killing her entire work crew, leaving Leica all alone until a handsome Curador offers her refuge in the Dome—the only place on Gabriel untouched by Red Death, where a decadent and sultry life awaits. But there's a catch: Leica can only enter the Dome as his concubine—his Kisaeng. When a rogue group of Citizens see their chance for revolution in Leica's good fortune, she finds herself unraveling a deadly mystery with chilling answers to the true origin of Red Death and the reason Earth really abandoned them so long ago. 

A richly imagined tale in the vein of Tamora Pierce, Lotus and Thorn is a magnificent, epic fantasy adventure.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Sara Wilson Etienne

See more books from this Author
Sara Wilson Etienne (www.sarwilsonetienne.com) lives in Los Angeles, California. This is her first novel.
 
Published June 7, 2016 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers. 432 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Lotus and Thorn
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Apr 13 2016

Etienne delivers a dystopian tale that deftly dissects stories—fairy tales, religious creation myths, political conspiracies—and develops a richly layered world drawn from such disparate cultures as Korean and Mexican.

Read Full Review of Lotus and Thorn | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Lotus and Thorn
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×