Love Literary Style by Karin Gillespie

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...latest attempts to thwarts stereotypes it has relied on to build its characters and plot, with mixed success. Readers who can accept the idea that one’s literary tastes determine one's identity will enjoy Gillespie’s humor, some heartfelt moments, and a journey into the convoluted world of 21st-century publishing.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

“Gillespie leads readers on a merry chase in this deceptively thought-provoking and addictive tale that will be a hit with romance fans. The lit fic crowd? One never can tell.” – Library Journal “Mistaken identities lead a literary snob and a romance writer to fall into bed and in love. Readers...will enjoy Gillespie’s humor, some heartfelt moments, and a journey into the convoluted world of 21st-century publishing.” – Kirkus Reviews “Witty and smart, entertaining and lyrical, in Love Literary Style author Karin Gillespie explores all facets of love and language through her evocative characters and charmingly delicious plot. Aaron and Laurie’s story is the intellectual’s romantic comedy, an uproariously winning tale that is sure to delight a wide range of readers, but particularly those who desire a book with heart.” —Laura Spinella, Bestselling Author of Ghost Gifts “Love Literary Style is an intelligently written novel packed with Southern wit. This is a story book clubs will devour. It’s warmly humorous, thought-provoking and shines with emotional depth.” –Amy Avanzino, Author of From the Sideline “Cheeky and charming, Gillespie’s sweet, outlandish fable is as much a sendup of books, authors, and the publishing industry as it is a love letter to it all. Like the Pink Lady cocktails stodgy Aaron can’t help but adore, Love Literary Style is a frothy and irresistible concoction–that packs a surprising punch.” –Phoebe Fox, Author of Out of Practice They say opposites attract, and what could be more opposite than a stuffy literary writer falling for a self-published romance writer? Novelist Aaron Mite meets Laurie Lee at a writers’ colony and mistakenly believes her to be a renowned writer of important fiction. When he discovers she’s a self-published romance author, he’s already fallen in love with her. Aaron thinks genre fiction is an affront to the fiction-writing craft. He often quotes the essayist, Arthur Krystal who says literary fiction “melts the frozen sea inside of us.” Ironically Aaron doesn’t seem to realize that he’s emotionally frozen. The vivacious Laurie, lover of flamingo-patterned attire and all things hot pink, is the one person who might be capable of melting him. In the tradition of The Rosie Project, Love Literary Style is a sparkling romantic comedy which pokes fun at the divide between low and high brow fiction. Related subjects include: chick lit, women’s fiction, humor, humorous fiction, Southern humor, Southern living, friendship. Books by Karin Gillespie: • GIRL MEETS CLASS, A Novel • LOVE LITERARY STYLE, A Novel The Bottom Dollar Girls Series: • BET YOUR BOTTOM DOLLAR (#1) • A DOLLAR SHORT (#2) • DOLLAR DAZE (#3) Part of the Henery Press Chick Lit Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...
 

About Karin Gillespie

See more books from this Author
Karin Gillespie is the nationally bestselling author of the Bottom Dollar series and a humor columnist for Augusta Magazine. Her nonfiction writing has appeared in the New York Times, the Writer, and Romantic Times. Visit Karin at karingillespie.net.Cris Dukehart is an award-winning storyteller who has narrated books in a wide variety of genres, from romance and science fiction to children's literature and autobiography. She can also be heard in commercials, e-learning projects, and corporate narrations.
 
Published November 1, 2016 by Henery Press. 280 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Love Literary Style
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Sep 07 2016

...latest attempts to thwarts stereotypes it has relied on to build its characters and plot, with mixed success. Readers who can accept the idea that one’s literary tastes determine one's identity will enjoy Gillespie’s humor, some heartfelt moments, and a journey into the convoluted world of 21st-century publishing.

Read Full Review of Love Literary Style | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Love Literary Style
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 23 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review